FF: A Review of 2010

I didn’t start blogging until October, but I wanted to take you on a quick photo journey through the rest of my 2010!

January

We had snow, which is quite the occurrence for Austin, Texas!

Yes, that is what you think it is.

February

I got to see one of my favorite musicians, Dessa of Doomtree, perform for her first tour of her first solo album. Her voice gives me chills and she is amazingly humble in person.  I was giddy like a kid in a candy store!

March

My tattoo artist and I began the first stage of the upper half of my sleeve.

April

My friend Amy won tickets to meet CYPRESS HILL and took me along.  They are legendary!

My big brother and his lovely lady made me a raw food feast on my birthday complete with spiralized zucchini noodles, raw marinara sauce, and walnut pate “meatballs.”  A-FREAKIN’-MAZING meal!

May

The bestieroomie and I had a joint birthday party (both of our birthdays are at the end of April) with all of our friends at a small lake where we live.

I also began my mission to eat my weight in Rainier cherries for the short time they are in season.  They are one of my FAVORITE fruits of all time.

June

I joined my first CSA!  I had such an awesome time every week making new recipes and eating more vegetables than I probably EVER have.

I also spent a sweaty night out enjoying my friend Paul’s band, Sons of the Beach, at Carlos & Charlie’s on the lake.  I am actually going to see Paul’s new and improved cover band, The Hitmen, tonight for NYE!

July

I ate my first white eggplant (why they are named eggplant in the first place, it actually looks like an egg!) that I received in my CSA delivery.

I also bought a dehydrator and made my first batch of kale chips. The beginning of a snack obsession.

August

My Lucy-dog had surgery to remove a huge benign tumor on her side.  I have a picture of the tumor if anyone wants to see it.  🙂

I also had my first kabocha and pondered why in the world I waited so long.  King of all squashes (and I have yet to meet a squash I don’t like!).

September

A couple of culinary firsts.  I made my first pasta sauce, a creamy, nondairy, tomato/nutritional yeast sauce with spinach.

And my first batch of granola!

I also started massage therapy school in September!!

October

I started my BLOG, with this recipe right here!

I also acquired one of my favorite t-shirts of all time.

November

I stayed up hella late and went to the best hip-hop show ever EVER.

And I got serious for a minute and remembered my mom.

December

I got wrapped up like a burrito.

And I got another ridiculously awesome new tattoo.

All in all, 2010 was a great year.  I tried a lot of new things, food and otherwise, I finally took the plunge to go back to school, and I started this blog and got to meet all of YOU!  I look forward to tackling 2011 and all the challenges it brings.  It’s gonna be a good year because I’m gonna make it a good year!

Tonight Alex unfortunately has to work the graveyard shift, but I will be going out with a great friend to watch a great band in my great new shoes.  Are you partying tonight?  Have fun and be safe, whatever you get yourself into!

Happy new year, everyone!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FF: A Review of 2010

  1. Great recap! I am having fun reading everybody’s adventures from the past year. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog these past few months, and can’t wait to see what’s next:)
    Cheers!
    Meri

  2. Cindy C says:

    Love It! Thanks for walking us through your year. Have a safe and wonderful NYE celebration!

    xoxoxo ~ Cindy

  3. Hangry Pants says:

    Happy New Year. I love the idea of intentions!

  4. Peggy says:

    Definitely sounds like you had a great year! We joined a CSA for the first time also and loved every minute of it! Can’t wait until April/May when it starts back up again! Have a safe and happy New Year!

  5. lindsay says:

    I’m really hungry now, walnut pate sounds awesome! I bet your mom would be so proud of you today! She was a beautiful woman. sorry to be sappy.

  6. Lisa says:

    What a nice brother to make you such a fab raw feast! Looks like it was a great year 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  7. This is one of my favorite recaps! I was drooling over everything! YUM! Love the tats too! I want to see the finished half sleeve! Here’s to a great new year and more great eats!

    Oh, and I totally will not eat snow around you guys! That looks like it would be dangerous!

  8. Brandy says:

    1. Love the tree sleeve! Tattoos scare the piss out of me. I have one piercing, and it’s predictable….my naval. And I nearly jumped out of my skin when the needle went in. But I love tats and I love all things tree related. I have a weird obsession with leaves. Is it completed yet?
    2. I’ve never had a Rainier cherry. Now, I must have one.
    3. SO jealous you have a CSA. I’d kill for one. The closest I get is local dairy group delivery. I do love it though!
    4. Wow! You’ve only been blogging since October and look how many comments you get daily! I’m blown away. I’ve blogged for over a year, and you’re the biggest commenter I have, even among my own friends and family. You seriously rock.

    I totally missed the blue screen of death post till today, and I made something special for you that night (it’ll be in the box Monday)…..so I had happy thoughts in mind for you nonetheless.

    I hope you have an Epic 2011!

  9. Kristina says:

    Love all the “pasta” pics and that the pup is ok:) Can’t wait to see what’s in store for you this year!!!!
    Happy New Year!

  10. I died laughing at Alex’s name in the snow! too funny! And I’m so jealous of your dehydrater! I need to break down & buy one – there are too many yummy snacks that I could dehydrate!

  11. Hail kabocha! My all time favorite 🙂

Leave a comment