Gluten-Free Breakfast Pizzert

Yesterday morning I woke up craving something new, and finally wanted to try my hand at making Katie‘s breakfast pizzert, with a gluten-free twist!

I busted out two new products for experimenting.

I mixed up all my ingredients (recipe below).

Put it in my greased pie dish.

And popped it in the oven… only to realize 4 minutes in that I forgot the baking powder, doh!  I removed it from the oven and furiously whisked in my baking powder, which I think disrupted the coconut oil spray I used to grease the dish, because once baking was complete I had quite the difficult time removing this one!

So it came out more of a mess than a pizzert, but still tasted totally delicious.  I topped this one with a sauce I made out of peanut flour, water, salt, and vanilla stevia drops.  Not one to stand for defeat, I tried again in the afternoon!

This one was prepared properly, but I think I should have let it cool before removing it from the dish, as I still had a bit of trouble getting it out.  Or maybe it’s the glass pie dish?  Or the GF flour?  Much fluffier than the last though!

Despite the fluffy appearance, these babies kept me FULL.  The first pizzert actually kept me going for over 5 hours before I got hungry, and I snacked on and off on the second one in the late afternoon and evening.  Amazing staying power!  The second one was topped with a slightly different sauce, peanut flour whisked into some plain coconut milk yogurt and a little bit of coconut milk kefir added to thin it.

This was also my first time experimenting with the NuNaturals stevia baking blend, and I loved it!  I used 2 teaspoons to sweeten the first pizzert and 1 teaspoon in the second, and both were totally amazing, just the second one being substantially less sweet than the first. Also, I know a lot of GF baked goods turn out better if you add xanthan gum (which the Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose GF flour does not have added), but since that is already an ingredient in the baking blend I didn’t add any additional, and the texture of the pizzert was delightful!

I am posting my version of the recipe, with Katie’s permission of course!

Gluten Free Breakfast Pizzert

  • 1/2 cup all purpose GF flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (don’t forget 😉 )
  • 1-2 tsp NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend (can sub appropriate amount of stevia drops or real sugar if desired)
  • slightly under 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tbsp peanut butter (I used Valencia crunchy)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste (optional, I put this in the second version)
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup frozen blueberries

Mix all your ingredients together, pour into a greased pie plate, and bake in an UNpreheated oven at 420° for 10-15 minutes (both of mine took 15). Top with whatever your heart desires.  🙂  (And obviously you can switch up the fruit, leave out the peanut butter, use a different nut better, etc.)

Thanks, Katie!  I am in LOVE with the pizzert!

I made some more GF bread yesterday too.  I used flax eggs this time (only because I was out of regular eggs), and the bread came out doughier and didn’t rise as high.  Still delicious, but I prefer the version made with eggs!

And I just have to share another yogurt mess I ate on Saturday (same as the one from WIAW) mainly because I think the pictures are pretty.  🙂

I am having fun experimenting with GF baking and look forward to trying new recipes.  To the experienced GF bakers out there, any tips for me?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Snack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Gluten-Free Breakfast Pizzert

  1. Aww you are so cute lol. My mom once forgot to put sugar in a cake :(. That was not good…
    Your pizzert looks so fluffy! Love it!! 🙂

  2. movesnmunchies says:

    i cant believe it was ur first one!!! they are SO SO SO GOOD.. and well, i eat my straight out of the pan to avoid the sticky mess hehe

  3. Stephanie says:

    How have I not heard of this? This sounds amazing!

  4. Meri says:

    Those pizzerts look great! Sounds a bit like the random “pancake dessert” recipe I keep lazily updating and changing every night as I go haha 🙂
    But maybe tonight I’ll take inspiration from you and add some fresh blueberries, I’ve got some really good ones in my fridge!

  5. Those pizzerts look awesome! I love Katie’s blog–need to make these ASAP. I don’t know anything about GF baking, unfortunately…but I’m also trying to learn! I have been experimenting with chickpea flour lately.

  6. I can see I’m not the only one whose been eating blueberries lately like they’re going outta style! I was actually thinking of doing some homemade blueberry muffins tonight! We’ll see!

  7. Pretty AND yummy. I know your blog is called Purple Bird Blog, BUT in my head it says Purple Bird Dog. And I can’t get it out of my head! Yummy though!

  8. Oh my gosh…that looks delish! Anything with staying power is a-ok in my books!

  9. What brand is the granola you used for your yogurt?

  10. booooooo baking! =) I kid I kid! ❤

    HOORAY GF!

  11. Both versions look and sound incredible! YUM! Now I want one! Ok, from what I have learned so far and these things change depending on the flour you use, egg whites are a great binder and leavener in GF baked goods. I like flax eggs occasionally, but they just aren’t quite as sticky as egg whites. I started just buying egg whites for a lot of my GF baking. I haven’t tried the pizzert with GF flour yet, but I wonder what egg would do to it. I know Katie doesn’t use them since she is vegan, but I am curious. Also, I like to use a little rice flour with my Bob’s AP GF flour to help it stick together. Ok, I could go on and on…your eats look perfect to me!

  12. I’ve never really done any intentional gluten free baking. It just happens on accident when I experiment with random flours so my only tip would be to keep experimenting! Your pizzert looks so good. Makes me want one right now!

  13. I love Pizzerts!! It took me a couple of attempts to get them to come out perfectly, but they’re yummy no matter what!

  14. You totally make gluten free work! You’re a great example of how well people can still eat if they have food allergies. If I ever gave up gluten, you would be the first person I came to for advice 🙂

    • Awwwe, thank you! I am definitely far from an expert and have so much to learn, but I’m really having fun just throwing myself into it all! I am trying to embrace my GF decision wholeheartedly, which isn’t difficult considering how amazing I feel in comparison to just a couple weeks ago!

  15. Hello Awesomeness! This is a crazy cool idea! And it looks tremendously delicious!

  16. Errign says:

    I keep seeing the pizzerts around, think I’ve got to try one soon! No GF tips from me, sorry!

  17. inmytummy says:

    I’ve been seeing this pizzert everywhere. I need to hope on this bandwagon. Looks good.

  18. Pizzert..hmm…why is this first time i’m hearing about this? Looks divine, even if it didn’t work out as you wanted.

    As for any tips…remember to use a binding agent and add a little bit more than the recipe callsl for. Lots of trial and error, but fun too 🙂

  19. I loved that idea when I saw it Katie’s blog! Way to run with it GF style.

    Yeah, gluten-free without eggs is definitely trickier. I haven’t found the secret yet.

  20. i seriously need to get on the pizzert bandwagon because clearly i am missing out!

  21. Kristina says:

    Why have I not tried on yet?! I gotta remember these on the wknd!!!! I would have eaten it right out of the pan!

  22. Awesome pizzert creation chicka!! I am totally making this! I love how they are so filling. The last one that I made kept me full for over 5 hours!

    Love your peanut sauce! I’m running so low that I’m scared to use it! I tried to get some the other day, but TJ’s was all out…sad day! 😦

  23. Holly says:

    I have forgotten so many ingredients in so many recipes — so I feel your pain!

    And I never seen to have much luck with glass baking dishes, so I agree that they may have impacted the pizzert.

    I still need to try this, it looks delicious!

  24. Peggy says:

    As long as the pizzert tasted good, the looks of it really don’t matter… right? Right.

  25. As long as it tastes good, that’s what counts! I’ve defnitely made ALOT of things like that, hehe.

  26. The pizzert looks uh-mazing!!! I have been wanting to experiment a bit more with breakfast foods. Can’t wait to try this one!

  27. yeah…i forget ingredients too sometimes-LOL! usually it’s sugar/stevia.
    good to know that bread can be made with flax eggs, too, even if it doesn’t rise as much.
    i guess my only tip with GF baking is not to expect it to taste or react exactly like it’s gluten counterpart.
    what’s nice about GF baking is that you can never overmix the dough. In traditional baking, we’re always warned against overmixing because it will get rubbery-and that’s from the gluten. not an issue with GF baking 🙂

  28. It may not look pretty, but as long as it tastes good, it doesn’t even matter. 😉 They look like they taste delicious.

  29. Jen says:

    DEEEEEEEEEFREAKINGLICIOUS! I have nothing else to say 😉 Oh, except I can’t wait to make this!!!

  30. allieksmith says:

    You go girl with your GF-ness!! So awesome 🙂 Is it all working out well for your tummy still? Looks soooo yummyyy!

  31. Lookin’ DELICIOUS!!! 🙂 I love how you made a gluten-free version of the Pizzert. 🙂

  32. I love pizzert. I think the messier it looks the better it tastes, hehe! Your so good with flavors too!
    LC

  33. OliePants says:

    Okay I had no idea what a pizzert was before reading this but now I must try this!

  34. Kayla says:

    Ok, that’s it. I’m making a pizzert TOMORROW. I can’t keep putting it off! 🙂

    Yours looks amazing, crumbliness and all. I’m going to add frozen blueberries to mine, too!

Leave a comment