Pizza and Groceries

Friday night Alex and I went on a dinner date to a local pizza place, Promise Pizza.  We’ve eaten there a few times in the past, always delighted with their pizza, but this time I was on a mission to try their gluten-free crust!

I ordered some mint and honey tea… this flavor is always so refreshing and not too sweet.

Waiting for the pizza to arrive… I’m excited!

Heaven in pizza form! I ordered mushroom and pineapple with Daiya mozz on the GF crust.

It was absolute pizza perfection!  The crust was thin and very tasty.  I ordered a medium and polished off the whole thing!

Alex was pretty proud of his all the meats concoction.

After our pizza excursion, we continued our date by doing what every couple on a date does after pizza… we went to the grocery store!  What?  You guys actually go to the movies or something?

Sprouts was having a sale on beans, so I stocked up on chickpeas.

A new vanilla GF cereal?  Sold.  And Puffins, of course.

A horribly yellow photo of some snack bars.

Chips and cookies for FREE (yay coupons!)?  A little splurge is always nice.

Some red chard… I’ll be making some raw wraps soon!

Some GF crackers that I can take to school for snacks, and I have eventual baking plans for those pretzels.

The powdered sugar and turbinado were on clearance for 99 cents.  Done and done!  I got a couple new flours to play around with and some white chocolate chips for a project I’m working on next weekend.

My So Delicious trifecta of awesome.


A new simmer sauce I haven’t tried before that was on sale and some bulk sunflower seeds, also in sale.

And some Tom’s deodorant (the apricot smell is awesome!) and some fiber pills that were on clearance (because fiber rules).

Alex’s work schedule and my work and school schedule don’t jive well at the moment, so even going to the grocery store with him is welcome time together.  ❤

Do you enjoy grocery shopping with your significant other?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Pizza and Groceries

  1. I don’t have a significant other, but I do like shopping with my family. 🙂

    I just got that Chocolate Chip Larabar the other day!!! We think so alike. 😉

  2. Everything you got looks so great! 🙂

  3. I think it’s so cool that pizza places are getting in on using vegan cheese / gluten free crusts. Everyone should be able to eat pizza!

    By the way… I love Alex’s sweater 🙂

  4. Haha I love shopping with Chris too. He’s always intrigued by all the strange things I get…and evvvery once in a while asks for advice on some nutrition stats. 😉

  5. Bobs Red Mill all Purpose flour is AWESOME. i have some on hand about 90% of the time. It’s so versatile!
    I stopped by TJs today and stocked up on some peanut flour because of the rumors of the discontinuation of it. 😦
    Also, I want to try that cookie dough/chickpea creation of yours 🙂

  6. 1. I heart GF pretzels rocks.
    2. Tell me more about PB puffins… =)
    3. HOLY PIZZA BATMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Girrrrrrrlllll, Puffins are like the healthy version of Cap’n Crunch, and they don’t tear your mouth up! I don’t know about you, but Cap’n Crunch rips the inside of mouth to bits! Jagged edged stupid cereal!

  7. allieksmith says:

    I ❤ grocery shopping.. I want to go with you, you get all the good stuff!! I have never had puffins but I hear so much about them in the blog world haha!
    The Pizza you ordered looks sooo bomb… I would have ate like 6 of those! Mmmm 🙂

    • Puffins kinda remind me of Cap’n Crunch, without the rip your mouth to bits factor. I don’t know about anyone else, but my mouth always felt raw after a bowl of Cap’n Crunch!

  8. Errign says:

    No boy right now, but I do love to grocery shop 🙂

    Pretttty much everything you bought looks fun!

  9. Stephanie says:

    We get EXCITED about trips to the grocery store! Mini dates each time. 🙂

  10. Brandy says:

    Too funny….I ran to Sprouts as SOON as the roads were drivable. Totally missed the turbinado sugar! Doh.

    My husband equates shopping (of all kinds) to some sort of medieval torture. So, no, I shop alone. Always. For pretty much everything. I love grocery shopping, so that’s fine. What I hate is clothes shopping….for two people with only one body present.

  11. Gotta say those are some pretty sweet groceries. Those PB Puffins caught my eye- love those sweet lil things!

  12. inmytummy says:

    I actually prefer to grocery shop by myself. When Jason and I go together, I always lose him and he has the cart and I’m walking down the aisles with tons of stuff in my hands.

  13. That pizza looks fab! I’ve never thought of doing mushrooms and pineapple! Sounds like a winning combo!

    I bought those sweet potato chips last week with a FREE coupon! So, wait…I guess I didn’t really “buy” them…I TOOK ’em! Haha!

    Can’t wait to see your chard wraps! I’ve never tried chard before…is it bitter?

  14. meri says:

    I love that you eat the Clif Kids bars too- I’ve never had the blueberry though? Love the s’more flavor!

  15. Hi!! I just discovered your blog! LOVE your About Me page…and how cool to live in Austin! I’m from the Dallas area, but currently living in Illinois.
    Your date sounds like fun- my boyfriend and I luuuurve to go grocery shopping together. It’s pretty much always the highlight of our week 🙂

  16. Jess says:

    pizza looks great, and i love your new header!
    i don’t mind shopping with my boyfriend, but we don’t live together or anything- so we can buy our own things and have our own budget..so it’s not really that worrisome:)

  17. Kristina says:

    I wish I had a pizza place like that that makes a vegan pizza-we had to make our own last night so that I could use daiya!
    I like grocery shopping with W but we have 2 carts and shop on dif sections, lol…

  18. movesnmunchies says:

    dang you got some loot!!! the choc chip cookie dough laras are the BEST!

  19. I think you should make dessert hummus with all those chickpeas!!!!!!! 🙂 hehe

  20. Holly says:

    Does the coconut milk yogurt taste coconutty? Sorry if that is a dumb question. But I need a dairy free yogurt and I hate the Silk stuff — tastes terrible. But I do not like the taste of coconut either!

    I go grocery shopping alone, only because I know the stores like the back of my hand and I don’t think Jason could keep up 🙂

    • It is a little coconutty, but I mix in peanut flour or protein powder and it dulls the coconut flavor. I like the coconut flavor, I just like to mix stuff in to the plain rather than by the flavored varieties. I am not a fan of the Silk yogurt either!

  21. My husband and I do the same thing 🙂 We often food shop or spend the evening cleaning our apt on Friday night!

  22. Can’t wait to see what you’ll be making next weekend!
    I try to avoid taking Chris with me to the grocery store unless we’re just picking up small things. I swear, the man is like a child – he just endless crap into the cart! : )

    • Alex and I are both impulse buyers, so that can definitely get dangerous!! “Oh that cracker you like but half the size and double the price?! You should totally get that shiz!” lol 😉

  23. Oh my gosh I HAVE to make a pizzert. Maybe that will be dinner tonight! Yummm!

    I love grocery shopping with anyone that will tolerate it with me!!! I just love love love the grocery store 🙂

  24. ihearteggs says:

    I’m single but used to HATE shopping with my ex. He whined and complained and ony wanted to buy the over priced yogurt and cookies. MEN! UGH! ahahaha

Leave a comment