A Return to Normalcy

It feels sooooo good to have some clean eats back in my life!  Last night I finally jumped on the smoked paprika bandwagon a la Ashley and Heather. I made baked tilapia sprinkled with the paprika and True Lemon, served with some steamed frozen veggies sprinkled with nutritional yeast, and some falafel balls I found at Costco, all on a bed of wilted spinach.

The paprika really complemented the mildness of the fish, and those falafel balls are supergood!  Such a light yet wonderfully filling meal!

I’ve been seeing eggs in a basket pop up all over the blogosphere lately, and today I made my own!

I saved the two circle cutouts and made a teeny almond butter and peach jelly sandwich for an appetizer.

Covered with nutritional yeast before I broke the yolks… check out that runny yolk goodness!

And also check out Mr. Creeper Muscle Guy in the top left corner, eek!  It’s overcast and dreary out right now, and those eggs were really comforting and perfect.

Have you ever made eggs in a basket?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Return to Normalcy

  1. lindsay says:

    oh I love eggs in a basket. Did you see the one with Kelsey and her gingerbread? so cute! Glad you back to normal! 😉

  2. Isn’t smoked paprika the shiz?! I’m freaking obsessed with it…that and the Ms. Dash Southwestern Chipotle. Come to think about it, either would really kick up some eggs in a basket! Hmm, breakfast tomorrow?

    PS-I love your cute little AB&J sammie!

  3. mmmm smoked paprika! I need to make a dressing/sauce out of it sometime soon!

    I actually haven’t made eggs in a blanket before! I usually have them scrambled with veggies b/c i’m yolk-a-phobic! But if someone made them for me i’d totally eat em up!

    xoXOxo
    jenn

  4. Haha, I made two today for the boys! I love making them…they are so easy and so tasty! Love the addition of nutritional yeast! I will do that next time.

  5. Kristina says:

    Mmm…I have such love for Falafel! I want to try making it myself one of these days!!!

  6. Erica D says:

    I’ve never attempted eggs in a basket, but maybe I should! That omelette I had the other day didn’t sit well with me, though, so maybe not. Oh well, then I’ll jump on the smoked paprika bandwagon sometime soon! Those lil sammies are adorable 🙂

  7. Priyanka says:

    I was thinking of making eggs in a basket this morning for breakfast don’t know why I didn’t but I am definitely making it tomorrow!

  8. haha, I love the creepy muscle guy! Thanks for the sweet comment earlier – still got a scratchy throat, but think it’s getting better. : )

  9. I’ve never made eggs in a basket, but I’ve been meaning to! I love the fact that you made a little sandwich out of the bread circles 🙂 No food goes to waste!

  10. Meri says:

    Ohh, I love true lemon. and true orange. I usually use it in my microwave pancakes and oatmeal combos though. I haven’t used it with a “meal” before!

    This post is full of yummy ideas!

  11. your eggs in a basket look perfect! i used to make those with my mom growing up…fun memories 🙂

  12. Peggy says:

    I’ve never tried eggs in a basket but I need to hop on that bandwagon soon! I love anything with a runny yolk!

  13. OliePants says:

    Okay! Maybe I’m way behind the times but I had no idea what to do with the cut-outs and I love the ‘appetizer’ idea! 🙂

  14. Jen says:

    I just made eggs like that about a week ago and then ate the teeny tiny circles with some butter on them, it was my favorite part 🙂

    Jen

  15. Katherine says:

    I love eggs in a basket!!! I usually just gobble up the extra piece of bread before it’s done cooking, but your idea is much better. I have never heard of nutritional yeast before- getting ready to google it!

  16. Pingback: Date Night, Some Soup, and a Potholder | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a comment