Date Night, Some Soup, and a Potholder

Date Night

While Alex was sleeping off his graveyard shift, I decided I wanted to surprise him when he woke up with a stay-in date night.  I went and picked us up each our favorite pizzas and ice creams.

His

And Hers (non-dairy style)

We finished the second half of Gone With the Wind curled up on the couch with our pups. It was my first time watching GWTW, and although it was a great movie, man those last 45 minutes are kind of a giant bummer. Could any MORE bad things have happened, geez!

My dessert more than made up for it though.  I crumbled some reserved cookie dough into my bowl of coconut milk vanilla bean ice cream.  Awwwww, yeah.

Some Soup

Last week there were soup recipes all over the place – Averie‘s spicy veggie soup, Meesh‘s pea soup, and Tina‘s bean and spinach soup, and they all inspired me to make my own lovely curry veggie soup!

I cooked up two kinds of brown rice (1/2 cup Mahatma brown rice and 1/2 cup Lundberg aromatic brown rice) in my rice cooker with water a chicken bullion cube to start. While that was going, I started some veggie broth in a pot with water and a veggie bullion cube, some yellow curry powder, some cayenne, a little salt (the veggie cube was salt-free), and some olive oil, to which I added a cup of split peas once the broth was boiling.

I see you, yellow pea.

I turned down the heat and covered the pot and let the peas simmer for about 25 minutes. I then added the cooked rice and several handfuls of the Normandy blend frozen veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, baby carrots, and yellow carrots) and let those warm up for a few minutes.  Finally, I added a couple of huge handfuls of spinach and let the spinach wilt.

It was delicious, but I felt like it needed a bit of something else.  Searching the pantry yielded my newly purchased smoked paprika.  I sprinkled some over the bowl and had a taste.

That was it!  The smoked flavor was exactly what the bowl needed, and it almost tasted like it had been cooked with ham!  I went ahead and added some to the rest of the pot so my leftovers would have that lovely flavor.

The next day the soup was even better, especially eaten with a couple small pieces of some rosemary sourdough that Alex had brought home.

and a Potholder

A couple weeks ago I was reading Allie’s blog, and she was showing off these cute potholders her little sister, Hannah, had made. She asked if anyone wanted one, so I enthusiastically responded… I love homemade stuff!!  It finally came in the mail, and I absolutely love it!

Allie, please tell your sweet sister thank you!!  🙂

And with that, it’s time to (keep) make(ing) the flashcards. Gooooood lord, the flashcards! I love to use them to study, but making them sure is a wicked pain in the butt!

What’s your preferred method of studying?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Date Night, Some Soup, and a Potholder

  1. The soup looks and sounds delicious, very nutritious

  2. allieksmith says:

    Yay for soup, pizza, and pot holders!!! Hannah got the BIGGEST smile when she saw her pot holder on your website… pretty sure you made her day… or year 😉 !!! Happy New Year 🙂 🙂

  3. I study with mucho snacks! It keeps me from running away screaming =) ooh and LOTS of postcards! and handmade study guides. I write everything a zillion times

    loving all those veggies in your soup chica! yum!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  4. rachel says:

    PIZZA!!!!!!!!! If I was on death row my last meal would be a massive pizza. Followed by cheese. And more pizza. Jealous about the california kitchen pizza! when I lived in the States it was my fav place to eat.

    Peace out.

  5. Gone with the Wind is so depressing! I remember watching it when I was young and hating it. I’d like to see it again- at least the beginning 🙂

  6. Kristina says:

    That reminds me of my fiance and my different eats! It’s sometimes difficult when you live w/someone with completely different eating habits but it’s fun when you can mold them on the healthy side at times:)

  7. I’ve never seen that pizza before! That’s like a Godsend!!
    I have seen that ice cream too, but it’s usually $8, but if it’s that good, I might give it a try!! 🙂

  8. I love that Amy’s pizza!

    Whitney

  9. Priyanka says:

    I love soups and leftovers specifically cuz the flavors somehow intensify. My method of studying, writing things down when I am explaining it to myself and then talk it out loud.

  10. Meri says:

    I love that potholder! I used to make those all of the time when I was a kid. Your soup looks really great too!
    Meri

  11. beaglebea says:

    Such an awesome idea for a date night…your hubby must have been in heaven…the food looks divine. I’m going to have to keep my eyes open for those pizzas..are they available in Canada?

    PS. Your blog is now on my blogroll..come check it out.

  12. Meesh says:

    I think your soup beats mine for sure! Looks so yummy 🙂
    I am a flashcard girl too, and yeah, they take a long time to make but it’s a good review! I spent hours making them for bio, so glad that’s over!

  13. OliePants says:

    I love pizza and date night! I have to try the Amy’s version! And, the coconut ice cream actually! That soup looks so comforting on these cold days!

  14. What a cute potholder! That soup looks YUM! I just got back home & it is FREEZING here!!!!! Some good homemade soup may be just what the doctor ordered. I should get on that ; )

  15. It is getting colder here, so soup is sounding really good to me! I love finding the random yellow pea in the split peas! I don’t know why, it’s just fun! Dinner looks perfect! Sounds like a fun night (even with the downer ending). Ice cream always makes things better! Oh and those dough balls look so good!

  16. Those are cute pot holders. And pizza + movie + treat date nights in are our favorites. We had one on Saturday.

  17. Peggy says:

    Aww, what a great date night! Love the potholder too! I’m definitely a “rewrite-my-notes” kind of studier. Total waste of paper, but I think writing the notes over, instead of just reading them, lets the notes stick in my head more!

  18. Jen says:

    I love CPK pizza’s, they are so delicious! I usually go for the BBQ chicken, but I think next time I’ll try the sicilian version. Looks awesome! As does your soup 🙂

    Jen

  19. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    I’m just skipping right to the pot holder here: you can never have enough!

  20. I was so thinking, “I wonder how smoked paprika would taste in that?” when you went for it! Haha! I swear that stuff would make tree bark taste good! Love your soup! Looks so tasty!

    The best way for me to study is flash cards and note taking. In other words…write, write, and write some more! 😦 Hurts my hand, but it’s the only way it will stick!

  21. runyogarepeat says:

    Mmm I’ve never seen that Ben & Jerry’s flavor before, and coconut ice cream is so good! I love the dark chocolate coconut kind.

Leave a Reply

