Barney Butternut Bean Bliss

I got a few questions on my new tattoo in the comments section yesterday.  Allow me a moment to address them!

1.  How long did it take? It was a 3 hour sitting.

2.  Did it hurt? Tattoos definitely hurt.  This one was not as bad as some of the other ones I’ve had in the past (hellooooo underside of the arm, yowza!) during the actual process, but booyyyy does it hurt now.

3. What is the meaning behind it? Although most of my tattoos have significant meaning, this one not so much.  I have been obsessed with manatees as long as I can remember.  I just love their ridiculous faces and I want to hug and kiss one, and someday I will.  I told the artist I wanted a manatee and “some random stuff to make it look cool.” And here we are.   🙂

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve had Barney Butter (my favorite almond butter, with Maranatha’s coming in at a close second!)  in my life, but when I saw they were offering discounted orders for the holidays, I knew I had to get some!

I got a jar of smooth, a jar of crunchy, and a bunch of the individual serving packs.  I knew breakfast had to be something special.

I made my oat bran per usual (1/2 cups oat bran, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk), but I also added a tsp of vanilla bean paste and a heaping spoonful of leftover pureed butternut squash, topped with a heaping spoonful of crunchy Barney Butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.

Post-stir.  See those lovely bean flecks?!  There was a melty bit of Barney Butter in every bite.  Perfect breakfast for this overcast morning!

Pretty girl.

Another busy day ahead of me.  I STILL have to finish my shopping, which I may do tomorrow but more likely will procrastinate till Friday. Oops! Are you feeling the holiday crunch, or are you ahead of the game?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dogs, Oat Bran and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Barney Butternut Bean Bliss

  1. awww puppy!

    You’re making me want to try this almond butter now! Is it pricey?

  2. spabettie says:

    I love manatees. and Barney Butter is BY FAR my favorite.

    if I can also share a CUTE PUP photo, Barney is also Basil’s favorite:

  3. Peggy says:

    Definitely diggin’ the new tattoo! And I’m pretty much ahead of the game on the Christmas shopping!

  4. Natalie O says:

    I’ve got to try this Barney Butter! I wonder if its only available online?

  5. inmytummy says:

    I do not want to talk about the fact that I still haven’t gotten my husband a present! Although, I feel a little better knowing that he hasn’t gotten me one either (I think).

  6. That first pic of the BB jars is really cool. I have camera envy. 😉 I’m hoping Santa is going to bring me a new one.

    That bowl sounds so yummy, warm, and comforting. I want one of my own right now.

    Hope you got all your shopping done. I’m done and everything is wrapped. Just waiting for one more present for CD to arrive. Hope it gets here!

  7. i love how yummy the scoop looks on top before it sunk its way back into the bowl hehe ❤

  8. That looks so creamy and delicious!

  9. I love the pic of the almond butter in the leaves – great pic!

  10. Your breakfast bowl looks so yummy! I made your chocolate pumpkin protein pudding for b.fast this morning. Paired with toast, it kept me full for 5 hours! Gotta love that protein! Thanks for the great idea!

    PS-Great first pic! Love the leaves!

  11. Meri says:

    mmm, squash and nut butter? Love it!
    I love me my oat bran, usually put some butterscotch pudding plops on top or sunflower seeds. Also, Anna’s ginger cookies are good crumbled on top.
    Better go make some 🙂

  12. Tattoos are expensive! That would be my only question. And how did you choose. I guess I am way too on-the-fence to ever be sure enough to get a permanent one.

    Where are the beans in there? I’m still trying to figure it out haha but the barneys looks SO good in your breakfast

  13. Jen says:

    Yummmm, love melty nut butter in my oats!
    I thought I was done with all of the shopping, until I remembered the stockings. I have to go buy everything for that today and then I’ll be done 🙂

    Jen

  14. OliePants says:

    I have yet to try Barney Butter but hear about it everywhere. Also, I do love adding nut butters to my warm breakfast meals like oatmeal and oat bran! Delicious!

  15. Brandy says:

    What is it about Barney Butter? Still haven’t tried any. I’ve only tried Justin’s almond butter (love their chocolate PB) because I can find them in the little sample backs. I’ve also made a lot of AB, but still the Barney intrigues me for the following it creats. Must be great.

    I had PB oats with morning too! With a mix of rolled and bran, vanilla extract (note: need vanilla paste), topped with PB. So good the dog tries to steal it!

    Thank you for all your comments recently! I know my setup doesn’t let you know when I’ve commented back, so officially THANKS!!

  16. lindsay says:

    Barney butter on sale is always a plus. I love hoe crunchy it is. And you definitely found the right combo with oat bran.
    Holiday shopping is DONE!

Leave a comment