Full of Awesome

Yesterday was busy and full of awesome.  I started the morning with this beast of a green monster.

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk kefir
  • one frozen banana
  • one hefty scoop peanut butter
  • 1/4 tsp maca
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • several giant handfuls spinach
  • 1 stem of kale (but just the leafy part!)
  • enough water to make it all blend!

Enjoyed in the car on the way to school.  Don’t worry, that was taken at a red light.  Kept me full all morning and fueled me through performing my second Swedish practical exam. Our instructor said we all passed, so even better!

Our second class of the day was called “movement skills” and was essentially a yoga class and then a massage trade.  Um, score!  After school, I headed over to a local Asian market to pick up some nori sheets and a bamboo mat.  All of you guys making sushi last week has inspired!

I grabbed a couple other things.  I am super in love with this green tea, infused with the tiniest bit of cane sugar.  Refreshing!

I picked up some brown rice vermicelli noodles.  I don’t know if I’ll ever shop the gluten-free section for rice pasta ever again after seeing the plethora of choices at the Asian market… and for WAAAAY cheaper!

And last but definitely weirdest, I took a chance on some tuna jerky.

I’m happy to report that it is FANTASTIC.  I love it!

Then when I got home, I was super stoked to find that Heather‘s package had arrived!  A few weeks ago I proposed a little foodie swap, I would send her some awesome Austin finds if she sent me some Trader Joe’s loot.

Heather, you completely amaze me!  Her selections were abundant and insanely perfect.

First up, an awesome selection of bars including the peanut butter chocolate chip Lara (the only one my store didn’t have!).

Some pumpkin butter (which I ironically just ran out of!), the coveted TJ’s cranberry apple butter and Valencia PB with flax seeds (crunchy!!) that I had yet to experience, and the lovely almond butter that I brought home with me last time I visited my sister that I haven’t had in my possession for over a year!

Her favorite chipotle Mrs. Dash, crack TJ’s red pepper spread that I tasted and now want to slather all over my body put on EVERYTHING (I made a pizza with it last night, post coming tomorrow!), and this amazing sounding vinegar based BBQ marinade that is a local find.

Some ready to serve brown rice and some plaintain chips.

Cinnamon grahams (I took the dogs on a late night jog/walk, and when I got home I totally dipped a couple of the grahams in the Valencia PB… I die) and some of her famous everything but sugar cookies!

And last but certainly not least…. PEANUT FLOUR!!!

I have been jealously watching all the peanut flour magic go down all over the blogosphere for months, and now I can finally participate!  *tears of joy!*

Um, so Heather… yeah… I owe you a membership in the kale chip of the month club or something because you way outdid yourself with all of this, but I thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me get my TJ’s fix!

I had to give some of those everything but sugar cookies a try immediately.

Oooo, what’s this?  (Excuse the polo shirt… part of our Swedish practical grade was based on “professionalism,” and I dug straight into that box first thing when I got home!)

Here goes nothin!

Pardon me while I chew this up.

Tasty blissgasm in my mouth.

I’ll be back tomorrow to showcase some awesome dishes I made with my new goodies.  I hope the rest of your Sunday is relaxing and awesome.  It’s homework time!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Misc., Snack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Full of Awesome

  1. You always have the best looking food…and I love the combo of stuff in the green monster.
    I’m officially jealous now—I have not tried peanut flour, and I’m such a dummy that when I went in trader joes the last time I went to NYC I totally forgot about it!

    Someday…..

  2. lindsay says:

    yea!!! COngrats your exam! So excited for you. And your gonna love that peanut flour. It ROCKS!

  3. Congrats on your exam and OMG so many goodies! =) Can’t wait to see what ya make with all of it! Don’t forget your food photos for Wednesday! ❤

  4. allieksmith says:

    You got some LEGIT food products! Good job on your exam :] I LOL’d at ‘blissgasm’

  5. Wow! What an amazing assortment of goodies! I seriously don’t understand why TJ’s doesn’t expand more!? Austin would be the perfect market for it, too!

  6. The beast of a green monster has so many healthy ingredients. I would have never thought of such a combination.

    So many ingredients look unfamiliar or I should say exotic. Peanut flour? Never heard of that before, I only recently heard of coconut flour. Thanks for enlightening me

  7. Erica D says:

    Yummy yum! I’ve never thought of putting maca in my green monsters; I have some lying around somewhere, so I’ll try that soon. As soon as I can find my magic bullet. Hmm.

  8. Yay good job on the exam! Your new goodies all look delicious, lucky! 😀

  9. inmytummy says:

    What a fun package! Whenever I go to Trader Joe’s, I have to try everything when I get home!

  10. I’m so glad you liked everything, especially the cookies!! I totally cracked up over “blissgasm”! Haha!

    Crazy, I JUST bought some Nori sheets today because I am determined to jump on this at home sushi bandwagon, but I totally forgot to get a bamboo mat! Grr!

  11. Meri says:

    Mmm your southwest mrs. dash looks yummy! I love those archer farms fruit bars 🙂

  12. Stephanie says:

    Congrats on the exam passing! And awesome goodie package! Wowzers! Glad you had a great weekend!!

  13. movesnmunchies says:

    AHHH LUCKY you ! so much good loot! im jealous 😀

  14. Wow you got a lot of good stuff!!!! Love the huge green smoothie-and adding a scoop of peanut butter? yum!

  15. OliePants says:

    Your stash looks great! You always seem to get the best food and a good variety at that!

  16. Awesome stuff! Way to make me miss Trader Joe’s! My closest TJ’s is about 45 minutes away. I can’t go there too much because I spend way too much money on snacks. 🙂

    PB in a green monster? Whaaaat!?!? That’s awesome! I am tempted to try it sometime.

    Whitney

Leave a comment