Oyster and Red Pepper Pizza and Pasta Perfection

I had been planning on making pizza for dinner on Saturday, and originally I was going to make a tomato paste/hummus sauce, but when I got this little gem in the mail I knew it was destiny.

I started with my ready-made Udi’s gluten-free pizza crust.

And slathered on some of the neon orange goodness (Katie, I see what you mean about that color being a little shocking!).

Topped with veggie action, spinach and baby bellas, and a little more sauce.

At this point, I was wondering what I could do to really make it special, and I remembered that I picked up these babies the other day!

Popped a few of those lovely oysters on there and into the oven for the time and temperature specified by the Udi’s package (can’t remember right now and too lazy to go downstairs to look).

Pizza perfection.  The crust was delightful, thin and crunchy, just how I like ’em, and the combination of flavors here was out of this world.  I didn’t miss the cheese one stinkin’ bit!

This combo was so good, in fact, that last night’s dinner used the same ingredients to make a pasta dish.

I used the brown rice vermicelli I picked up at the Asian market.

Inspecting the packaging led to a couple funny finds.

“Then it can be finally treated brown rice vermicelli in soup and other different ways.”  Yes, of course.

Makes one cup cocked?  Hush your mouth, you dirty vermicelli, you!

While the water was boiling for the noodles, I set up my spinach wilting station, just pour the cooked pasta and boiling water over the spinach into the colander.

I love the way sliced mushrooms look on the cutting board.  I know I’m weird.

I busted out the leftover oysters… creepy little things.

I sauteed the mushrooms in some olive oil until tender, added the oysters and a heaping spoonful of the Trader Joe’s red pepper spread to the pan, and stirred until everything was warm.

By this point the water was boiling, I cooked the vermicelli for 3 minutes (can’t beat that), drained the pasta, poured the pasta and wilted spinach into a bowl and threw the mushroom mix on top. My camera battery died during the cooking process, so this crappy cell phone pic will have to do.

Pasta perfection!  That brown rice vermicelli was wonderful in taste and texture, and these ingredients really do complement each other so well.

Do you ever use the same ingredients to make different styled dishes?  What are some of your favorite flavor pairings?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Oyster and Red Pepper Pizza and Pasta Perfection

  1. I need to get ahold of this sauce! Is it salty? I cant handle salt for some reason.

    those mushrooms and oysters were in my dreams btw. thanks for that 😉

  2. Stephanie says:

    Nice choices!!! I love that you were too lazy to get the cooking time. Haha! What are we supposed to DO without that information????? lol

  3. Kelsey says:

    now i need to be on the lookout for brown rice vermicelli noodles! i think the only other thing ive seen is brown rice penne and linguini but i love vermicelli and it would be awesome to get my hands on a brown rice version! the meal looks super duper tasty! and altho i dont like oysters (well i shouldnt say that cuz ive never tried them but i dont really like seafood much) the oysters ontop of ur pizza dish looks fantastic and i bet the flavor released from them when cooking would really perk up the flavor factor of the meal!! ❤ YUM-oooo

  4. Erica D says:

    Oysters are so weird-looking. I’ve never tried the canned variety, but I’d love to! Also, layering a meal with a spinach base has to be one of my favorite things to do!

  5. That pizza looks amazing! Like I need another excuse to go to TJs…

  6. Katie says:

    Oh the sauce!!! I need to make more. And I need to make it now!

  7. I remember opening that far too and thinking it was shocking with the color! I put Sriracha on EVERYTHING savory! I like putting just about anything on a pizza and salad. We do a potato, hummus rosemary pizza that is knock your socks off good. You don’t miss the cheese either since the potatoes and hummus are so creamy. Your dishes look delicious!

  8. Umm, can I eat those mushrooms please? 😛

    Whitney

  9. Yeah..pizza…looks awesome..now if only I could eat oysters, but I developed an allergy to mussels this summer, so I’m staying away from all by-valves. But it would probably be really good with prawns 🙂

  10. Ohhh I have been dying to try that TJ red pepper sauce!!! Glad to see it was such a hit in your dish 🙂

  11. I am not sure how I feel about oysters… canned. Not a fan in general but the pizza looks good anyway!
    Udi’s gluten-free pizza crust- never tried it but now I HAVE to!

  12. Pingback: Excitement Comes in 3s! | Purple Bird Blog

  13. Haha! Loving the English skills! I want that pizza NOW…you know my address! 😉

  14. Rachel says:

    I love the Udi’s crusts too! They are my favorite. My preference is to put the crust in the oven while the oven is heating up, letting it crisp for about 5 minutes. Then I top the crust and put the pizza back in the oven. I usually knock only 1-2 minutes off the recommended cooking time and it comes out extra delicious. I have found that when I don’t do this the crust is a bit soft or soggy for my taste. If you like them crispy I would definitely give it a try on your next one.

    • I didn’t think it came out soggy at all, but that’s a great tip! I was so impressed with these! I was having severe gastrointestinal distress recently and cut out pretty much all wheat (save from a few graham crackers) from my diet last week and am feeling much better, not to mention I lost 3 pounds eating the same amount of food! I suppose I may have a sensitivity of some sort in that a little bit doesn’t seem to bother me but overdoing it makes me feel like crap.

Leave a Reply

