Kitchen Therapy

I took out some of my aggression in the kitchen this afternoon making some delightful black bean burgers.

I used Heather’s black bean burger recipe as a basis to start, but with the following substitutions.  I used a whole can of beans to make two giant patties. I used 1 tbsp flax and 3 tbsp water for my flax egg. No onion in the veggie drawer, so I omitted that. I used cumin, garlic powder, and cayenne, but more to compensate for more burgeriness. No bread crumbs, so I used corn meal (as much as it took for the burgers to no longer be sticky).  And I didn’t have any Worcestershire sauce, so I used Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.

Mashing these guys up was pretty therapeutic.

Once I had my patties formed, I remembered Mama Pea making cheeze stuffed burgers, so I whipped up some hummus, True Lemon (mixed in a bit of water), and nutritional yeast sauce.

Side note:  I love True Lemon, so much that I purchased True Lime and True Orange as well.  These came in the mail yesterday and I am super stoked about trying out the new flavors.  (They were having a holiday free shipping/free box offer, hence the plethora of stuff.  Plus, I mean… go big or go home, right?)

Once I had my cheeze sauce mixed up, I added it to the patties and covered the sauce portion with more patty mixture.

Cooked in an olive oil sprayed pan for about 5-7 minutes on each side, and then served with some BBQ sauce and pickled jalapenos.

Very comforting on this overcast and blah day.  And I’m not going to lie, I ate the other patty within an hour of eating the first one.  I had to.  It was perfect.  🙂

❤ C

This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kitchen Therapy

  1. Kristina says:

    This looks so good-I’ve never tried True Lemon, i’m going to have to try and find it!!!

  2. Testing…
    can you see the right email and site?

    email: tori@fitoriblog.com
    site: fitoriblog.com

    Thanks so much girl!!!

  3. Wow girl, you are the freaking queen of substitutions! I bow down to you! I will definitely have to try the cheeze sauce! I knew there was something missing with the original!

    PS-Glad bean mashing proved therapeutic! 😉

  4. Priyanka says:

    this black bean burger looks delicious!

  5. Erica D says:

    Looks nasty, tastes awesome, I’m certain.

    I made patties out of leftover refried beans, grilled veggies, and salsa this summer; they looked like poo, but counselors actually sought me out for the recipe!

  6. Meri says:

    They are so pretty! I’m thinking mashing potatoes would be good “kitchen therapy” too. or kneading bread.

    I’m jealous of your true lemon/lime bonanza. I might have to see if they still have that offer!

  7. Sounds & looks amazing! I’ve been wanting to try making a black bean burger for awhile now! Sorry about the cruise frustrations – that is really sucky! : (

  8. Erika says:

    I love veggie burgers! I used to always eat Boca or Morningstar, but since I’ve discovered homemade I haven’t gone back. I might give this one a whirl one day too! 😉

  9. Katie says:

    I make black bean burgers on a fairly regular basis, and I am so adding the cheeze stuffing next time!

  10. Lori says:

    Um, this is pure genius. And I need this in my life, you have no idea. Hummus filled black bean burger?! YUUUUUUUUM.

  11. Peggy says:

    These black bean burgers look freakin’ a-mazing!

  12. I love making bean burgers! They are just perfect food! These look so good and with that “cheesy” center…YUM!

  13. Zelinda says:

    OK, I missed the point on the cheese sauce. Hummus?

    Burgers looked amazing though, especially with the tiny bit of ketchup on the fork. What’s with the cute elephant?

  14. great photos of the bean burgers! now i’m drooling 🙂

  15. Pingback: January Goals!!! « Thefitacademic's Blog

Leave a comment