Snow Day!

I know for many people across the country the snow is getting old or is at least a common occurrence, but down here in Austin where we hardly ever get any, snow is EXCITING!

It started last night with some ice flurries, which I only knew was going on because I read about it on Facebook. πŸ™‚

You can’t even really see them in the picture I took of myself.

As I was getting into bed around 2 a.m. (my inner night person has been ruling my sleep patterns lately), it occurred to me that I could hear it snowing. I ran back downstairs, and it was definitely coming down harder.

And this morning we went outside to THIS!

Hehehe, my roommate had already been out to play!

She made a snow angel.

The dogs checking it all out.

Lucy loved the snow!

Check her out in action!

Meanwhile, Rambo did his business and wanted right back inside.

Where he could just lick the snow that got tracked in off the floor.

I went to take a peek out front.

Neighbors and dogs obviously walked through our yard!

Purple Bird Blog, baby.

And with that, I have to WORK. Β Working from home doesn’t excuse a person from the snow day, doh! Β Hopefully the snow will clear out enough that me and Alex can go on our planned date for tonight out for pizzzzza (to a place with GF crust options and Daiya, woohoo!). Have a great day everyone!

Do you like snow?

❀ C

This entry was posted in Dogs, Misc., Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. Haha. No…I don’t like snow. πŸ™‚ But the kids do so I suck it up every once in a great while. Ryan could live in a snow cave. Me…I prefer it hot and steamy! Purple Bird Blog Baby! Love it!

  2. Errign says:

    I grew up (and still live in) the Great White North of New England, so yeah. I like the snow. πŸ™‚ Been skiing since I could walk, literally. Wednesday, we got around 8-10 inches here, that was pretty cool. My puppy loves, loves, love to be the snow!

  3. Brandy says:

    There’s just too much of it for the North Texans! You know we have sand trucks, not snow plows. The ice from Monday night is not melted and we got 5 inches on top of it. Ugh. I attempted to go to work and failed miserably. So, I missed again. Three vacation days burned. Yikes!

    I think I like your snow better. It has the good sense not to come while there’s two inches of snow on everything! πŸ™‚

    Riley would SO play with Lucy in this.

  4. I love it! ❀ Esp. when it keeps paul home from work!!!!

    Looks like you and the puppers had a blast! I love these two photos of you! awesome! =)

    ps: do you need some html action for you snazzy new button? ❀

    • Heheheh, yes I do need some html action, most definitely!! I wrote you back from my rasp muppet account yesterday saying we can work something out in the future for a header and some other design work… I want that as a header sooooooooooooooooo bad! πŸ˜€

  5. i LOVE all the snow! although im a hot weather person.. its still pretty to look at!! but after a while it can be a bit annoying when im trying to get outside!

  6. Dogs and snow are so funny! I bet yours were confused at first. Mine like to stick their faces in it and come out with a santa beard. πŸ˜€

  7. Lisa says:

    It’s so funny to see that tiny bit of snow and think how uncommon that is for people who live in places like you! We haven’t seen the ground in quite some time, and there is ice everywhere πŸ™‚
    I’m kinda over it, but I don’t let it get to me—I chose to live here, after all! Maybe it makes the summer even that much sweeter?! Probably not…but I justify it that way πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your snow!

  8. Mandy says:

    Your pictures are awesome! The snow falling is beautiful! But I seriously have to laugh-in Kansas we get a ton of snow each year and hate it more and more! Can we switch places for the winter???

  9. rachel says:

    SNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW! I love snow! However when it snows about an inch in england, the entire country comes to a halt. Have a good night! We just ate pizza too – which isn’t doing good for my Slimming World mantra this week. oh well – its friday!!

  10. So much snow! I’m not a fan. I like the warmth, thankyouverymuch. πŸ˜‰
    Love the doggies!

    Mmmmm… pizza- allergy friendly!

  11. Jen says:

    When we first moved to Michigan from California, I loved the snow. Heck I loved it up until a few years ago. I’m over it. I hate waiting on snow plows (currently on day 3 of being trapped in the house) and really hate the mess that wet snow and salt bring into the house! That being said, I LOVE cold weather, the colder the better!!! If I could live somewhere where it was cold and no snow, I would be in heaven πŸ™‚

  12. i lived in Wisconsin for 30 years so I’m very familiar with snow days. πŸ˜€
    i know they recently got hammered big time. my dad called me to tell me he couldn’t get out of his front door! He had to crawl out the window, because they got 24 inches and the drifts were about 3 feet tall!
    Now, living in Seattle, I do NOT miss the snow at all. It sure makes things pretty, but it’s such a hassle. Our old senile dog still loves the snow, though. She’ll put her nose deep into it and then throw it up and romp around. It’s super funny.

  13. We have been getting slammed in the Northeast this winter, but I don’t mind! I love it! Melting snow in NYC is another story though…you can’t imagine anything more disgusting.

  14. Beautiful! Snow is gorgeous!!! Here in Vancouver, we barely got any snow this year…..bummer!

    xxoo

  15. How fun! I’ve never seen snow fall before… what noise does it make when it’s falling?! I had a dream that I could feel it falling on me, and it felt like cotton balls!

  16. I’m excited for you!!! but I hate snow and am so glad that it’s not snowing here in atlanta πŸ™‚ we had a storm earlier this year and it was a big deal for us. enjoy it!

  17. LauraJayne says:

    So while I’m in no hurry for any more snow here – I’m glad you’ve enjoyed yours! I totally understand – in fact, I’ll let you have all of Utah’s for the rest of the year. No negotiation required. =)

  18. whitney says:

    Snow in Austin? Thats crazy! I don’t mind the snow…. I just really enjoy sunshine and warm weather.

    Whitney

  19. Erika says:

    I LOVE the snow, but we’ve already gotten too much of it this year! Glad you and the doggies had fun in the snow – great pictures!
    PS – Love the new header! πŸ™‚

  20. I love how you wrote PBB in the snow!!! SO awesome. πŸ™‚

    Yeah, I like the snow. I just don’t like the cold. πŸ™‚

  21. Lucy is SOOOO cute in that video! Love it! Hope you got to go out on your date with yo man!

  22. I LOOOOVE the new banner!!!! So exciting!!!
    I’m so jealous of your snow!!! Rocky would have been having a ball, too!

    • I made that header all by myself, other than Jenn of Peas & Crayons designing the first panel for me! Isn’t she great?! And I can’t believe I figured out how to do the rest in photoshop! πŸ˜€

  23. Pingback: I Heart Snacks | Purple Bird Blog

  24. We got a bit yesterday too. My little girl acted like it was a winter wonderland, when really it was a light dusting. It was fun, though, and I enjoyed watching all the neighborhood come out and play.

  25. Glad you’re enjoying the snow!! I never thought you’d be able to hear snow either until I did over Christmas. Gotta love it when it’s coming down that hard!

  26. Julie says:

    That video of Lucy frolicking is so cute!! Kiska (the resident feline) was interested when she heard the barking, so I played it for her on the iPhone. She watched the whole thing then gave a huge yawn when it was done. I’m not sure but I think she also rolled her eyes.

Leave a Reply

