Can you substitute brussels sprouts for meatballs?

Hahaha, not really, but they were the only ball-like component in my pasta dish last night!

Please forgive the crappy quality of that picture… my camera died at the very moment I snapped it.  I’m honestly surprised anything was captured at all!

I made an extremely simple but flavorful tomato sauce out of a can of tomato paste, a cup of veggie broth, and 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast, whisked in a small pot until combined.

I cooked some of this pasta.  Verdict?  I like the brown rice vermicelli I got at the Asian market better than this, but it wasn’t bad.

I steamed some brussels (camera photo taken after my other camera died).  I don’t know why I was craving steamed whole sprouts vs roasted or sauteed last night, but I was. Mind you, very gently steamed so they were still brilliant green and slightly crunchy.

I found a random snap pea in the bag of sprouts!  I love when that happens… the healthier version of finding a french fry in your order of tater tots!  🙂

The final component in my meal… some baby clams.

I’ve got to get better about charging my camera more often so I don’t have to use the camera phone.  Looks less than appetizing, but I assure you it was delicious.

I’ll try to be back tonight with another post for What I Ate Wednesday!

Do you have a recipe for homemade tomato sauce?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Can you substitute brussels sprouts for meatballs?

  1. ahahah this is so cute!! i would SAY YES becuz i LOVE brussel sprouts!

  2. Bsprout balls can definitely be the meat substitute any day in my book!

  3. brussel sprouts > meatballs

    duh =)

  4. Meri says:

    hmmm. still looks pretty darn good to me! I love me some sprouts, and they are especially good lately!
    Love your sauce too 🙂

  5. Cait says:

    I’ve truthfully never had/tried brussels sprouts. perhaps I will 😉

  6. I’ve never made my own tomato sauce before… I always have a bunch from Costco 🙂

  7. Peggy says:

    I love brussels sprouts! This meal sounds perfect!

  8. Wow – lucky that you got that pic! Weird that it died at that exact moment! I think mine does that too…..like it would still be “alive”, but the extra effort of snapping the picture is what puts it over the edge into dead-battery-land : )

    • Heheheh, seriously!! Usually when the camera craps out during a photo (this has happened at least 5-6 times, oops!), when I go to upload the photos it says “image not available.” So I was surprised to see that one show up!

  9. Lisa says:

    We make red sauce from a recipe from runner’s world—it’s really awesome, and totally “clean.” just tomatoes, garlic, onion, fresh spices…and usually spinach.

    I like your version –it looks easy and yummy!

    • I am such a fan of tomato paste to really give that POW! tomato flavor… I don’t feel it needs much else, but the veggie broth gives it a nice flavor and texture, and I put nutritional yeast in practically everything! 😉

  10. Errign says:

    I do have a pasta sauce recipe – on my blog under food!

    I would totally eat what you had for dinner. I love, love, love Brussels. So freaking delicious.

  11. I like balls. Er, I mean I like brussel sprouts. 😉
    Just kidding- but I really do like B Sprouts and this looks like a simple, quick, and yummy dish I’m going to have to try out soon!

  12. Mm i want roasted brussels sprouts… though I’d probably take steamed, too 😉

    I can totally see that working as a psuedo-meatball though! I mean, not that it tastes like meat, but… As a stand-in… 🙂

  13. I love that idea!! You are SO smart girlie!!! 🙂

  14. inmytummy says:

    I always use jarred tomato sauce. I’m way too lazy to make my own, but I bet it would taste way better.

    Where do you get that nutritional yeast? I’ve only seen it in bulk bins, never in a container like that.

  15. I love brussel sprouts….they are so good right now too.

  16. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Purple Bird Blog

  17. Jess says:

    I think that’s a great substitute!

  18. rsmacaalay says:

    Excellent idea! Its definitely way much more healthier!

  19. Pingback: Red Beans & Rice and Energy Balls | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

