Gluten-Free Bread and a Happier Tummy

I did it.

I successfully used yeast.  I baked a loaf of bread.  Gluten-free bread.  Delicious, glorious bread.  Without a stand mixer.  And making substitutions.

I used Pamela’s Bread Mix and Flour Blend.  I followed the recipe on the back of the bag but subbed applesauce for the oil (all the while thinking, “Should you really be substituting in this when you don’t know what you’re doing?!”).  I also got discouraged when it said to use a stand mixer with the whisk attachment on medium for 3 minutes.  I have a sad little hand mixer.  I used the hand mixer until the dough was too big and sticky for the hand mixer to take it, and then I kneaded the dough for a couple minutes with my hands.  No pictures of any of this process… this dough was seriously sticky and my hands were covered.  I let it sit for an hour per the instructions, only to see that it had indeed risen a bit. It was supposed to raise more in the oven.  I put it in the oven and hoped for the best, and the best is definitely what happened!

It is gloriously brown and crunchy on the outside, densely deliciously doughy on the inside.

That texture.

And more importantly than anything else, it really just tastes fantastic. Store bought bread seems so weak in comparison. I ate a huge honkin’ slice, and then another smaller slice, both plain and still warm from the oven, and just enjoyed my creation.

And then there was breakfast this morning.

I almost cut two smaller slices, but in the spirit of go big or go home, I just cut off another delightfully large slice, topped it with almond butter and cranberry apple butter, and savored each doughy bite.

Loooook at it.

Amazeballs.

So I unofficially eliminated about 99% of gluten from my diet 2 weeks ago to see if it would help me with my gastrointestinal distress. Not only have my stomach issues calmed down considerably, but I have lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks without changing the amount that I eat or the amount of exercise I do.  And practical elimination of my bloated, pregnancy-looking tummy that usually presents itself by nightfall on a daily basis.  I think I may be on to something here for myself and my own health.

Happy Monday!  I wish everyone a productive and lovely week.

❤ C

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Gluten-Free Bread and a Happier Tummy

  1. Kayla says:

    The bread looks WONDERFUL!

    Great to hear that going gluten free has helped! I really never thought that I should go gluten free but….maybe I should try it out??

    • I am just researching it all myself, and I am not an expert! That’s why I did an elimination diet of sorts, to see if it would work for me. I was having some *serious* issues though (let’s just say a lot of stomach cramping and a lot of time in the bathroom). If you’re having any kind of stomach issue, I would recommend maybe giving it a shot!

  2. This bread looks awesome! I am not gluten free but it looks good enough to try anyway!

  3. I’m thinking going GF will help my tummy issues too… though I don’t have your mad bread baking skills! omg. I want!

  4. Jess says:

    glad it is working for you!

  5. The bread looks great! Especially with PB& J 🙂 Glad you’re feeling alot better!

  6. Lisa says:

    Fantastic!
    I’m so glad you shared this. My mom has been a gluten-free bread nazi…and has yet to find a yummy one. I’m sending this to her pronto 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling better without the gluten too…definitely worth keeping it out of the diet to feel good!

  7. Yay! I’m so excited for you! Way to go on the bread! It looks mighty tasty!

  8. spabettie says:

    WEE !! this is AWESOME – it looks fabulous – way to go, girl!!

    I’m happy you have found that eliminating gluten has helped you… it’s a pretty amazing thing when we can feel GOOD from the food we eat!

  9. Wow, the texture looks amazing! It’s so hard to get GF bread looking like that and the toppings look so good too… cranberry apple butter?! Sounds delicious 🙂

  10. Your bread looks FABulous girl! 🙂 My cousin (who is gluten intollerant) would LOVE THIS!! I need to send her a link to this. Pronto!

  11. Christin,
    Bread looks perfect, and I’m so glad you’re feeling better. I thing gluten causes inflammation in so many, and most people would be better off avoiding it…and I think it would be much easier if they had bread that looked like yours. 🙂

    CD and I have been talking about where we want to live when we retire (we dream a lot). Anyway, a winter home in Austin is at the top of our list. Hehe. 🙂

    • I am definitely inspired to stay away from gluten after the last 2 weeks.. I am blown away!

      And yes, you and I can be old ladies together sitting on the porch drinking tea and going to bingo… shoot, who am I kidding? I love bingo now! 😉 Have you ever been to Austin? It is such a wonderful place, I know you’d love it!

  12. Marie says:

    That bread is seriously THE bomb. Do people still say that? Well it’s beautiful. I’m glad gluten-free is working so well for you! I saw Suzanne Somers on the Today Show a while ago and she was talking about how we unknowlingly have all these food allergies that make us feel terrible and pack on pounds… so interesting!

  13. It looks amazing! I’ve heard so much about the way gluten affects our bodies- I kind of want to try an elimination diet and see if that helps!

  14. meri says:

    Beautiful! You give me confidence to try a little GF baking myself! (Note- I have very little baking experience of ANY kind, not just Gluten free…)

    • Meri, I have seriously only started experimenting with baking over the last few months and actually having success… in the past I have burned so many cookies, cakes, and the like, and had to trash so many failed recipes. I baked a 2 inch high loaf of brick bread once and that scared me from using yeast for the last 10 YEARS until this batch of bread! I don’t know why things are working now, but I’m having a lot of fun! 🙂

  15. That looks so, so delicious! Congrats on the gf yeast baking success! Don’t worry, you’re not alone … I’ve mixed many a gf bread mixes with my little wimpy hand mixer 🙂

  16. Bread looks awsome…have you noticed thought that GF Bread is often heavier? I’m glad your GI issues are resolving themselves…I noticed a huge diffrence too, just wish my bloating would go down…a work in progress.

  17. Congratulations girlie! That bread looks phenomenal! I can’t get over that texture! And good for you for even doing some substitutions! Gluten-free bread is one of the next ones on my list! I may be doing some serious research on gluten in the future. Sounds like we share similar tummy problems! It would be great to go a day without the bloated yucky feelings I get all the time!

    • Heather, I am seriously incredibly moved by the transformation that has occurred in these last couple weeks! And this bread is my savior. If I can go GF and still eat doughy delicious bread like this, I am alllll good! 🙂

  18. Kristina says:

    The bread looks delish-glad you loved it…I firmly believe it’s important to have bread in your life, haha….

  19. ahh that is SO DENSE AND wonderful!!

  20. the day i went gluten free, my life changed. big time. i had tummy troubles for years and gluten was the final straw. OVERNIGHT i felt better.
    you couldn’t pay me to eat gluten now. especially since gluten intolerance/celiac is an autoimmune disease that, if left untreated, leads to other deadly immune diseases.

    the bread looks AMAZING. does it have eggs in it?

  21. allieksmith says:

    Your bread hardly looks GF.. that is crazy! Yuuuum 🙂 Great job!!! I hope you have no more tummy troubles !!!

  22. The bread looks beautiful! I am so glad you are feeling better!

  23. Peggy says:

    Hooray for conquering yeast! This bread looks fantastic!

  24. Wow – congrats on the jump to being GF!!! That’s so exciting about the weight-loss too – who knew! You must be on to something! PS: This bread looks AMAZING!

  25. I love pamela’s!! Such a good mix. Looks awesome.

  26. OliePants says:

    Amazeballs indeed! I have yet to try baking a loaf myself – I’m very intimidated by bread. But, if I yield the same results, it might just be worth it! 🙂

  27. Jen says:

    That bread does not look like GF bread…great job!!!!

  28. Oh oh oh, I don’t understand gluten at all! I’ve been reading Simply Sugar and Gluten Free the blog, and I don’t get it. I mean I get why people GO gluten free, but I don’t understand gluten. Like why do people lose weight when they go off it? Like it is still a carby bread right???? Props to you for figuring it out why the bathroom time has been taking over your life! I’ve been cutting out carbs and I no longer look pregnant which is pretty awesome, since I’m not you know! I like your blog so much!

    • Awwe, thank you! I love your blog too! 🙂

      I think for me some of the weight loss might be due to just everything righting itself, irritation calming down, proper absorption of nutrients, etc. I have been feeling fuller longer, and I wonder if that is a result of nutrients being utilized better without the anger in my colon. I have an incredibly hard time losing weight, and I am starting to wonder if food allergies have something to do with that!

  29. racheyroo83 says:

    Amazeballs indeed!!! Looks delish! Whenever I need dough (just for pizzas) I get tired. Lame.

  30. major congrats to you, christin for figuring this out!!

    food allergies 101
    eliminate things on your suspect list.
    watch for results.

    clearly, you are gluten intolerant. you dont need any test to tell you anything more. give your gut time to heal, use probiotics, fermented foods, and you wont have that bloated belly, mood swings, etc that you did on gluten. BTDT. Glad you are onto something!

    • I have been bathing my belly in probiotics… I should pick up some kim chee from the Asian market when I go this weekend too. It definitely feels good to finally figure out (at least part of) what is going on in that crazy digestive system of mine!

  31. Awesome bread!! Really good job. Can’t believe it’s gluten free too!

  32. Pingback: Tofu Scramble | Purple Bird Blog

  33. Must. Make. Now. …or as soon as I get home. 😉

  34. Brandy says:

    Holy crap that looks deeeeee-licious. The hubby saw the photo over my shoulder and called it “enticing”. Agreed. 100%. Is there french toast in your future?

  35. Ellie says:

    Niiiice it’s great that you’re being your own scientist and finding out how to better help your body. 🙂 Perhaps I should try this too next time my stomach starts acting up. The bread looks delicious and you’re so funny with your multiple slices!

  36. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

