What I Ate Wednesday: I Made Sushi!

My lovely friend Jenn over at Peas and Crayons has been doing a weekly installment entitled “What I Ate Wednesday,” where she details all her meals for an entire day and posts it on Wednesday, and she invited us all to participate.

So without further ado, I present all of my eats for yesterday.

Breakfast

Two pieces of brown rice toast topped with almond butter, cran apple butter, and half a sliced banana. I had an unpictured cup of coffee with So Delicious coconut milk cream and vanilla stevia drops.

Lunch

Pizza on an Udi’s ready-made crust with more TJ’s red pepper sauce, nutritional yeast, spinach, and sliced baby bellas. I also ate a handful’s worth of unpictured leftover brussels sprouts while I was waiting for my pizza to bake.

And an apple.

Afternoon Snack

Brown rice cake with peanut butter and the other half of the banana.

Dinner

A prep-time snack of a few small strips of tuna jerky, while I got ready to make my own sushi for the first time!

My prepping station – bamboo rolling mat wrapped in plastic wrap, nori sheets, sliced avocado, a can of kippers (smoked herring), brown sushi rice, and a bowl of water for dipping my fingers into to prevent the rice from sticking to me.

I spread the sushi rice on a sheet of nori.

Then I put on my avocado and kippers and rolled it up.  I made two rolls, although I didn’t have quite enough rice for the second one, and it fell apart just a bit.

I was so proud of myself, and this combo was actually pretty righteous.  The kippers were actually very reminiscent of unagi in flavor and texture to me!  Now that I know I can make rolls, I really want to go to the fish market and buy some sushi grade fish!

I had a small piece of Dove dark chocolate for dessert.

Late Night Snack

I ended up having to work pretty late last night, so I fueled my typing with three TJ’s cinnamon graham crackers dipped straight into the Valencia PB jar.

(Yes, I did eat nut butter three times in one day.  It keeps me full for long stretches and those healthy fats keep my hair shiny and beautiful.  I ain’t skurred.)

I drank a ton of water throughout the day, and I also took my daily vitamins (B, C, D, fish oil, calcium, and a probiotic) after breakfast.

And that’s a day of my eats!  What’s the best thing you ate yesterday?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday: I Made Sushi!

  1. ahhaha i eat 3 tbsp a day too! i LOVE the stuff and the fats are BRILL! ….. yummy graham cracker combo there!

  2. Aw, I made my own sushi allllll the time this past summer, and I haven’t done it since! 😦 I need to do this again soon. It looks good!

  3. 3T might be a minimum for a day for me. Peanut Butter is awesome! I did discover Sunflower Seed butter yesterday though and I feel an addiction coming on!

  4. Peggy says:

    You definitely got some good eats there! Those sushi rolls look fantastic!

  5. Sushi huh! It looks like you did a great job! I REALLY enjoyed our beets last night! They tasted so divine! So good! I love nut butter as well and normally have it twice a day!

  6. I’ve been wanting to try rolling my own sushi too. Except it will be a veggie roll, so can I really call it sushi? 🙂 You are giving me confidence, so thanks!

  7. Lisa says:

    Looks like a yummy day of food! I am totally going to make sushi again soon. I don’t know why I put it off…it really isn’t that hard. And it looks so good with avocado!

  8. mmmm I have a jar of PB in front of me right now!

    FABULOUS day of food! so many different colors and food groups — you’re a freaking rock star Christin! ❤ The sushi looks great too — I totally would steal a few off your plate !!!

    Thanks for playing along with my silly what I ate game! =)

  9. I think we could be eating twins! Same loves, same style. Gotta love that nut butter. I also have to get my nutella kick. I put it on dried apricots.

  10. That sushi looks legit girlfriend! Awesome job!

    Ahh, you are a woman after my own heart! Props to the nut butterin’ love!

    Best thing I ate yesterday was my breakfast salad…although I tried the honey graham flavor Z Bar that you sent me and it was maaaarvelous! Tasted just like graham crackers…I was sad when it was gone! 😦

  11. I usually eat peanut butter at least twice a day, sometimes three times. It’s the best!

  12. I Love me some AB, too! Can’t get enough! Is it bad if I can’t even remember what I ate yesterday to say what the best thing was? Yikes! My days are all blurring together!! Cod fingers? (Was that yesterday?) lol…..my brain is fried this week!

  13. Meesh says:

    Wow, congrats on making sushi! It seems to be such a daunting task for me, I have never tried! Great eats – yesterday wasn’t so good for me but today I think the best thing I ate was a humongous green monster for breaky, I had a lot of leftover spinach to use!

  14. Glad you ain’t skurred of PB… neither am I! Your sushi looks well-done… I can’t get mine to look like that!

  15. YUM! I love making sushi, but it has been so long! It is easier than you think and so much cheaper to make at home. Besides, it’s fun coming up with flavors! Your eats look delicious!

  16. Amanda says:

    oh my that valencia pb is soooooo sooooo good!!!! Jealous

    I had that Siggi’s yogurt yesterday and I swear it was the greatest thing I’d ever eaten.

  17. yum: three TJ’s cinnamon graham crackers dipped straight into the Valencia PB jar.

    and your sushi..NICE job!

    and your pics, as always, big and fabulous!

  18. meri says:

    Last night I was hungry at like 2 in the morning and finished off a jar of PB (it was “nearly” gone already…) and I agree about the fats, they keep me nice and full till morning so I can sleep lata!

    I’ve never even heard of tuna jerky! I tried cactus jerky for the first time a few weeks ago and am sort of addicted.

    • CACTUS JERKY?! And where does one find this novelty? Because I *need* to try some now!! 🙂

      • Meri says:

        Whole Foods! I tried another new kind of seitan jerky the same day too which left my tongue all messed up and powdery though… so stick with the cactus (although cactus is not high in protein, so basically it’s an overpriced novelty snack…)

      • I’m kind of the queen of overpriced novelty snacks (and my boyfriend is an impulse buyer as well… we are DANGEROUS at the store together!) so this is right up my alley! 😉 I hope my WF has it too!

  19. Looks great…I wish I liked sushi.

  20. Good for you for making sushi! That’s awesome. The combo of graham crackers and pb looks delish. Why have I never thought of that??

  21. Brandy says:

    I’d totally eat three nut butter three times a day! 🙂

    The sushi looks amazing. I’ve only made veggie sushi. And I’ve never had kippers. What do they taste like?

  22. Awesome on making your own sushi. I don’t know if I would ever feel confident enough to do that.

  23. Mandy says:

    Homemade sushi is so good, but a little time consuming (at least for the rice!) My husband is not a fish fan, so we usually make vegetarian-but they’re still good;)
    I had a wonderful green monster smoothie for lunch on Wednesday-that was my most interesting eat that day!

  24. Love that pizza! What a great day of grubbin’!

  25. I’m SO impressed that you made your own sushi! Wowza! I really need to learn how to do that one of these days 🙂

  26. Your sushi looks great! I love how you can really just throw anything in a sushi wrapper like a tortilla, but for a different and lighter spin!

  27. I love making sushi!! I haven’t in a long while, though..but it a ton of fun. I udually get impatient and eat the roll before getting a chance to cut it, though.

  28. rachel says:

    nummy! pizza and sushi look delish!!!!

  29. rsmacaalay says:

    Missing yor peanut butter posts. I remember when I was a child I love dipping bananas in peanut butter and jelly

  30. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

