Excitement Comes in 3s!

1.  You can now access my blog via www.purplebirdblog.com!  The wordpress.com address still redirects to the new one, so I don’t think you have to change them in your readers, but I’m super excited to have been able to drop the wordpress from the URL, especially without having to make the jump to self-hosting (which may come someday but not anytime soon!).

2.  Remember how I said I was winning the Peas & Crayons giveaway for a custom blog button?  Well, I did win and I can’t wait to see what brilliance Jenn comes up with!  She’s amazing!

3.  I recently won Averie‘s NuNaturals stevia giveaway, and not only did they send the white stevia powder packets and the vanilla stevia drops (which I had in my coffee this morning… deliiiightful!), but they also sent the baking blend (which was on my shopping list!!!) that I have been dying to try, along with a packet (it was heavy!) of recipes.  Thanks Averie and Ron!

To continue on with my crack addiction love for the TJ’s red pepper sauce, I had a brussels sprouts scramble for lunch yesterday.

I reheated some sauteed brussels sprouts in a pan with some of the red pepper sauce, scrambled two eggs into it, and topped it with nutritional yeast.

Lovely, isn’t it?

I’ll be back later with a post on some homemade doggie treats for these monsters.

Tell me something exciting!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Contest, Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Excitement Comes in 3s!

  1. Wow, girl! While you’re on a winning streak you should play the lotto!! : )

  2. dara says:

    can’t wait to hear how the doggie treats turn out!

  3. I love NuNaturals! I won that one too! The baking blend is good, but I would not completely replace the sugar in the recipe. There is a flavor there. More importantly…I WANT/NEED that scramble! YUM!

  4. Ameena says:

    Congrats on winning such wonderful prizes!

    Something exciting – I am heading to Minneapolis this Friday and I might freeze to death! All I have in a wool coat…

  5. awww yay! They totally deserve some homemade goodness! Which reminds me, i’m working on something animal related too!!! secrets secrets! ❤

    I was laughing when you said "I GOT THIS!' in your post and was literally cracking up when you won. The randomizer must have known something that I didn't… but you obv did! =) too funny! I need to be as confident as you! ❤

    xoxo
    jenn

  6. janetha says:

    i looooooooooooove the pooch photos. i wish mealsandmoves.com was available!

  7. How exciting! How did you drop the ‘wordpress’ from your name? I want to do the same, but I don’t know if I’m ready to self-host. It seems like so much work!

    • Okay, so you have to register your domain first. I registered purplebirdblog.com (thank god it was available!) at GoDaddy.com, for like 12 dollars (I think for a year). The next part was technical and kind of tricky (and another 12 dollars for a year), but I had to point my DNS servers at GoDaddy to WordPress, and then select purplebirdblog.com as my primary domain instead of the wordpress.com version, and as I far as I understand, as long as it’s all paid and current it will keep redirecting to the new address. It’s the same wordpress.com hosted blog, just with a non-wordpress name. That might not make a lot of sense… it didn’t to me yesterday! 🙂

  8. Jess says:

    I applied for lots of internships for this summer today- eee!

  9. Those are some great giveaways! It’s SO fun to win 🙂

  10. Lisa says:

    That is very lovely! Looks like a lot of my dinners 🙂

    Exciting…hmm, let’s see. It warmed up to 25 degrees today…that’s boring, but it’s all I’ve got right now 🙂

  11. Love the nutritional yeast bowl!! That stuff is super super good! And congratulations on hosting your own URL, too!

    • It’s still hosted by wordpress.com, just forwarded or linked or whatever. I’m naive to all that stuff. 🙂

      • That’s still very cool to have a unique URL. So, you didn’t have to go through a hosting site or anything? I didn’t know you could do that. I was under the impression to have your own URL from wordpress.com, that you had to buy one through a hosting site and switch over to wordpress.org. It’s even neater that you were able to do so so simply!

      • So, I wouldn’t say it was simple, but not as hard as I thought! I purchased the domain purplebirdblog.com from GoDaddy a while ago and just had it sitting there because I didn’t know what to do. I learned last night that I had to point the GoDaddy DNS servers to the WordPress servers (sounds technical, but not that big of a deal really) and then set purplebirdblog.com as the primary domain. So the wordpress.com still forwards because it’s attached, but it is still hosted by wordpress.com. Which also means I don’t have the freedom to make it my own, but I am not ready for that responsibility right now anyway, so it’s all good! 🙂

  12. Brandy says:

    Oh my goodness, I totally want those sprouts! And how is the stevia??

  13. spabettie says:

    I saw you won that button and squealed for you. that made Basil give me the side eye. 🙂

    *whew* I am in the middle of moving to self hosting right now. I’m excited, but it’s a lot to fix.

    as always, LOVE the pup photos!

    • Awwwe, thanks lady!! I did some squealing myself! And be on the lookout shortly for some even better pup peanut butter licking photos! 🙂

      Good luck on your self-hosting adventure! I’ll take that plunge someday, but definitely not while I’m still in school!!

  14. inmytummy says:

    That brussels sprouts bowl looks really good. I need more nutritional yeast in my life.

  15. Heck yeah girl! Can I rub shoulders with you in hopes that some of your luck might wear off on me? Congrats on the new URL and I am so jealous of your stevia!

    Very nice to see that the red pepper sauce is put to good use! At the rate your going, I’ll need to send you another jar by the end of the week! 😉

  16. That is exciting….good job on winning… I remember when I bought my domain name.

  17. Homemade doggy treats?! I neeeeed! 😀
    That brussel sprouts scrumble looks sooo good. I love to throw everything in a bowl for lunch.

  18. meri says:

    I’m excited to see what you do with the NuNaturals products, and uber jealous about the peas and crayons win too 🙂
    Not bad for a Tuesday!
    Meri
    merigoesround.blogspot.com

  19. Erica D says:

    Didja know…

    In Egyptian mythology, the god Osiris is killed and cruelly dismembered by his brother Seth, and his wife/sister Isis manages to piece together all of his body parts…except his penis (!) which was thrown into the Nile and lost forever, so he can’t be regenerated.

    This was supposed to be a lesson that even the wisest Egyptian embalmers can’t bring people back from the dead; once you’ve crossed over to the afterlife, you’re there forever.

    Exciting? Haha.

  20. yay i won that giveaway too!! IM SO EXcited to get all that stuff 😀

Leave a Reply

