Brown Rice Farina

Alternatively, a bowl of creamy goodness.

I picked up this Bob’s Red Mill brown rice hot cereal the other day, and yesterday morning seemed like as good a time as any to try it.

I put 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and 1/2 cup water in a pot, brought it to a boil, added a splash of vanilla and 1/4 cup of the farina, cooked it for about 6-7 minutes until it was of a good thick consistency, poured it in a bowl, and busted out the most delicious set of toppers.

A nice spoonful each of Maranatha almond butter, my new TJ’s cran apple butter, and my beloved So Delicious plain coconut milk yogurt.

I stirred it all together and savored every magnificent bite.

In sad news, Jack LaLanne passed away at the age of 96 yesterday. He was the epitome of health and happiness. Rest in peace, Mr. LaLanne, and may you enjoy all the glorious juice you can drink in the heavens for eternity!

And finally, but most certainly not least, my lovely friend Jenn over at Peas & Crayons is having an awesome giveaway where she is offering to make a custom button for your blog! She is extremely talented, and I am totally going to win this one, so you should visit her but don’t worry about entering. I’ve got this.  😉

Off to school, toodles!!  🙂

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Brown Rice Farina

  1. I want to try that cranberry apple butter. I don’t know if it’s seasonal, but I missed my chance at stocking up on pumpkin butter before it disappeared, and I don’t want to miss this one too!

  2. My sensei mentioned the passing away of Jack LaLanne in class today! He said for his 70th birthday, he took 70 boats and 70 people and swam 70 miles..possible in the Pacific? I really don’t know if that’s even accurate, but it’s what sensei had said (in an unsure manner) 😛 That hot cereal sounds interesting, too. Never heard of brown rice hot cereal before!

  3. lindsay says:

    Jack lived a good life! Sad to see him go though. And my goodness, the porridge is perfect. I love using the coconut kefir too!

  4. RIP Mr. Fitness =( so flipping sad

  5. Buuut thanks for the shot out ho =)

  6. allieksmith says:

    RIP 😦 … Glad you liked the hot cereal.. did it taste like a combo of oatmeal and grits? Thats what I imagine it would taste like!

  7. That cranberry-apple butter looks YUM! I’ve never tried that flavor before!

  8. Almost looks like a bowl of oatmeal. Looks good.

  9. Oh I love toppers!!! That is so super tasty! I eat oats in the AM just about EVERY DAY! I don’t know how some people live without them!!!! ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

  10. Jess says:

    I can’t believe he passed away!

  11. Jen says:

    Your breakfast looks like heaven in a bowl!!!!! Delicious!

  12. RIP:(
    Hot bfasts are the best in the winter-yours looks like comfort in a bowl!

  13. I remember seeing Jack Lalanne on a morning show when he was in his 80’s, and they had set up a chin-up bar for him—he was doing chin-ups!

    I have crazy respect for that guy. May we all take his life as an example of how to be positive and do the right things for our bodies!

  14. OH MY GOSH That looks GNARLY!! so creamy!

  15. i’ve had rice farina, cinnamon, and peanut butter every single morning since i found out i was gluten intolerant 2 years ago.
    never gets old 🙂
    although your toppings do look equally, if not moreso, delicious!!

  16. Love the idea of trying farina – I never had it! Also, I really hope that I will live to be 96 🙂

  17. Peggy says:

    I’m in love with apple butter! That farina definitely looks pretty darn tasty!

  18. LOVE theBob’s Red Mill brand! I’ve never had the cran apple butter though, that’s going on the grocery list!

  19. Brandy says:

    What’s the texture of farina like? I’ve never had (or heard) of it.

  20. Mmm, your breakfast bowl reminds me of the old school cream of wheat that came with the packet of fruit sauce stuff that you drizzled on. My mom would always make the coolest designs!

  21. Maranatha almond butter,TJ’s cran apple butter and plain coconut milk yogurt= perfection!!!!

  22. Rachel says:

    You should check out the Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty cereal some time. It’s super delicious and is more hearty (and healthier!) than the brown rice farina.

    http://www.bobsredmill.com/gf-might-tasty-hot-cereal.html

  23. Pingback: PB&J Farina | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

