Vanilla Bean French Toast

Hey, cutie.

Lunch was the last of the vindaloo leftovers with brussels and a huge hunk of spinach (wilted into a small pile) and the aforementioned clementine on the side.

This afternoon a craving struck me pretty hard for french toast.  I picked up some new Food for Life brown rice bread last night that was begging to be frenched up.

They are extraordinarily dense, small slices of bread that I thought would take on French toast batter very nicely.  I usually have an aversion to ordering french toast out places because of how sweet it is.  Since I like to top it with maple syrup, I prefer the actual toast to be less sweet.  My batter consisted of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, an egg, an obscene amount of cinnamon, a little salt, and the magic vanilla bean paste; no added sugar.

Soak that shiz up.

Into a hot pan sprayed with coconut oil until I had lovely brown action on both sides.

Drizzled with a bit of sunflower seed butter and maple syrup.  Other than the fact that I could have let the bread soak even longer in the batter due to its density, this was delicious.  Not very sweet, perfectly satisfying my craving.

I leave you with a picture that makes me smile.

Do you like french toast?  Have you ever made your own?  What do you put in your batter?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Vanilla Bean French Toast

  1. French toast is my favorite breakfast! I keep it simple, but I like to try different toppings. I am dying to try sunflower seed butter!

  2. janetha says:

    mmm i love french toast! i always add a ton of egg whites, cinnamon and vanilla to mine. and just a splash of milk. i like the egg whites to get all crispy on the outside but for the bread to be soggy on the inside. clearly, i take this very seriously.

  3. I love French toast and make it relatively often. The batter is usually almond milk, an egg, vanilla extract or flavoring, and whatever strikes me like cinnamon and nutmeg.

  4. inmytummy says:

    Love French Toast but I’m always too lazy to make it in the mornings. I should have it for dinner or something though.

  5. lindsay says:

    i ❤ french toast with cinnamon, banana, and almond butter. Best comfort dish in the morning!

  6. Jess says:

    I like French toast- but it is a once in a great while kinda thing for me. This looks great! I love the addition of sunflowerseed butter.

  7. soak that shizz up?! lmao! you always make me laugh/smile!

  8. I don’t eat eggs a lot, and I didn’t eat french toast much as a kid, so I never even think to make french toast. Yours looks absolutely delicious though…I want to try it immediately! 😀

  9. NICE!
    to the coconut oil
    and this: Drizzled with a bit of sunflower seed butter and maple syrup.
    oh yeah!!

    when you publish your pics, what size do you select, btw? medium or large from WP? I love how big and clear your pics are!

  10. Love French toast though I haven’t made it in like fah-ever! I usually do 1 egg + 1 egg white, splash of vanilla almond milk and a crap-ton of cinnamon! I don’t like my batter to be sweet either…that’s what the syrup’s for!

  11. I’m not a big french toast fan – you know how I’m all weird about eggs and stuff. : ) Love the pic of your man – looks just like mine (before his X-Box broke, that is). He used to do the online gaming thing & call all his friends to be on his little Halo team and they’d get on their headsets and talk shit to the 10 year olds. Yup. They never grow up! : )

  12. Meri says:

    I sometimes bake french toast to make several pieces at once. Yours turned out really pretty from the coconut oil. Love it!

  13. sophia says:

    I used to eat french toast every night, with ham and cheese in between. I think we call it the Monte Cristo? 🙂

  14. French toast is yummy..reminded me to make my famous apple-cinnamon pancakes this weekend (maybe)… the boyfriend makes FT weekends for the kids, but they are pickey, so it’s pretty basic. And it looks like puppy wanted some of that bread too..very cute. Yummy looking salad.

  15. Christine says:

    I don’t make french toast often — but I did today. I use a simple batter: egg, splash milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract.

  16. i LOVE FRENCH TOAST!! its so genius and soft and sweet and ahh!

  17. Love french toast with a big fatty piece of italian bread! I haven’t made it in a while but I was boring and just dipped it in scrambled eggs!

  18. Mmm I haven’t had french toast in forever!

    Whitney

  19. Haha, after making french toast earlier this week…I have made it 4 times already since then. We are definitely fans of homemade french toast! I do nutmeg in mine and the boys like a little powder sugar with maple syrup too. I like apples or bananas and a little drizzle of maple! YUM!

  20. I love french toast! My fav is to make a pb sandwich, dip that in the egg mix and then make a syrup out of cherry preserves with a little water.

    PB & J Frech Toast! DELISH!

  21. Peggy says:

    I loooove french toast. Definitely one of my favorite breakfasts!

  22. back in the day when i could eat eggs and gluten, my fave french toast was made from Challah bread.
    OH.EM.GEE. i’m sure that’s the kind of french toast that will be served in heaven 🙂

  23. Linda says:

    I like French Toast! Yesterday I prepared it for breakfast ♥

  24. Brandy says:

    Ohhhh…..cinnamon and vanilla bean paste…..nom drool.

  25. I just made doughnut french toast this morning. After browning the french toast you coat it in cinnamon and sugar! IT was so good!!!

Leave a Reply

