Kale Two Ways: Chips and Colcannon

The kale at the stores I shop at has been looking pretty sad and wilty lately, so a few days ago when I spied too nice looking, although small bunches, I snatched them up quick and immediately put them to use.

With the first bunch, I made some Mexican-spiced kale chips.

I took around 3/4 to 1 cup of hummus and mixed it with a couple packets of True Lime, some cumin and salt to taste, and warm water to thin.  I tore my washed kale leaves off their stems and tossed them in the mixture until evenly coated.  I laid them on the dehydrator trays and sprinkled them with cayenne pepper, and left them to do their dehydrator thang at 120° overnight (8 hours or so).

They came out incredible, and also incredibly spicy!  They didn’t stand a chance and I devoured them throughout the course of the day.  I like making kale chips with a hummus base rather than cashews because they are lower in fat and less rich tasting, so consuming the whole bunch isn’t even a question.  🙂

For the second bunch, I made a recipe out of an awesome magazine that one of my fellow massage therapy students gave me last month.

She’s British and gave me the UK edition of Good Food, which was a ton of fun to look through!  One recipe that caught my eye in particular was for colcannon.

It’s meant to use winter garden essentials of potatoes with either cabbage or kale.  Mashed potatoes with onion and kale? Uhhh, sign me up!

I made mashed potatoes with a little salt and unsweetened almond milk and set them to the side.  I then sauteed chopped white onion in Earth Balance, added the washed and torn kale, and then combined the two.

I grossly overestimated the amount of mashed potatoes I needed (I set some aside and didn’t use them all for this recipe), and my dish looked a lot less green than the picture in the magazine.

The magazine photo.  Oops.

It didn’t matter though.  This dish is simple, delicious, and very comfort foody and perfect for cold nights.  I ate mine with some miso paste and True Lemon massaged tilapia.

Mouthgasms abounded.

I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for bigger, healthier bunches of kale so I can keep experimenting!

Do you like kale?  Do you have a favorite way to prepare it?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner, Snack and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Kale Two Ways: Chips and Colcannon

  1. janetha says:

    i have only ever used kale in smoothies. i need to hop on the kale chip wagon.

  2. I want to make kale chips! I dont have a dehydrator though =(

  3. Stephanie says:

    Kale is a staple in our house. There was nothing better than picking our own this summer! We just got our dehydrator over Christmas and have yet to use it for kale chips, but its happening soon! They actually were all sold out of kale the last time I went to the grocery store. Either my city is on the kale train or I need to stop shopping at 8 pm! Those taters look sooooo good!

  4. spabettie says:

    next time this is for dinner, can I come over?? 😀

  5. lindsay says:

    HOLY MOLY! Love the mashed potatoes with the kale. Genius I tell ya.

  6. Wow – both ways sound amazing! I think if I had a dehydrater I’d be making the kale chips pronto! What a great idea to use hummus!

  7. I’ve only had kale once and it was in chip form..which I loved! This mashed potato recipe sounds right up my alley, too. I used to always mix greens with my mashed potatoes!

  8. You had me at Colcannon (cause I had no idea what that was)… and kale…. and potatoes… and I just love this whole post. Yum. Sounds warm and comfy. 😉

  9. I’m Irish so I love my potatoes and colcannon is a fabulous dish!

  10. Peggy says:

    I love kale! I’ve always wanted to try to make kale chips, but never got around to it! Definitely love it braised more than anything though!

  11. Yum yum…yum! I’ve never made kale chips…I don’t know why—they look really good, but I can never choose which way to do it. It seems like hummus is a great choice—I love hummus!
    I usually just saute spinach with mushrooms, herbamere (or sea salt) and turmeric….

  12. woah! i need to try kale– it kind of spooks me with its texture but its great for you!

  13. I made kale chips once, but I think I must’ve overcooked them or something because they ended up tasting how freshly mowed grass tastes! Ick! Definitely need to give them another try! I love the idea of mixing them in the mashed taters…another fun way to sneak in more greens (that’s totally me)!

    I love adding kale to soups and stews! It looks so pretty and ups the fiber content!

  14. Pingback: One-Pan Wonder | Purple Bird Blog

  15. Brandy says:

    I’m a little ashamed to say that I’ve never had any kale….or chard actually. I think I need to get on that, yes? 🙂 Suggestion for first dish to ensure I like it?

    Also, I love colcannon! And well, most things Irish. 🙂 MMMmmmm……..

    • Hmmm… kale is a pretty strong greens taste, but I love it. Massaged kale salads are always great. The chips might be a good way to go too. You can make them in the oven if you don’t have a dehydrator, but I would consult Google for that! 🙂

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    That kale chips remind me of a nearly similar dish in the Philippines which is called crispy kangkong (water spinach). But instead of using a dehydrator we usually deep fry it.

Leave a Reply

