FF: 3 years

My Flashback Friday post today comes on the heels of my anniversary with Alex!  On Tuesday (1/11/11!), we will be celebrating 3 glorious years together, and I wanted to share a little walk down memory lane with you all!

We were friends before we started dating.  He had actually recently gotten dumped, and I didn’t have a car at the time, so I would call him and ask him to come pick me up so we could hang out.  I was really trying to get him out of his head and cheer him up.  Shortly thereafter he went to visit his family in Oklahoma for 2 1/2 weeks for Christmas, and I was his sanity anchor of sorts while he was gone.  We ended up talking every day while he was there, and we really grew close.

When he got back, we were hanging out a lot and obviously had feelings for each other.  In that picture above, we are hanging out at my old house with some friends, trying to be coy and not let on that anything was different to everyone else.  People began having their suspicions anyway.

I think it was 5 days later that I called him (after prompting by the bestieroomie) and asked him what was up with us.  On 1/11/2008 we made it official and decided to see where it led us.

We had actually originally bonded over our mutual love of cartoons and video games, and our relationship grew stronger quickly as we realized how exciting it was to date someone with so much in common.

We also grew to love and appreciate the differences between us too.  Let’s just say there are few musicians we can agree upon, and our food choices are often quite opposite ends of the spectrum.

We have so much FUN together, it’s unreal.  We laugh constantly (I tell him he’s my favorite show, although sometimes I tease him about needing to write new content because I’m getting tired of the reruns, oops), each baring a pretty twisted sense of humor (his admittedly slightly more twisted than mine).  People often say, “I bet there’s never a dull moment between you two,” and they are right.

There is also beauty in the fact that we can enjoy each other’s company even when there’s nothing to be said too.  I just like hanging out with this guy, and 3 years later that has only intensified.

He is generous and extremely loving, and he is patient with me when I am selfish and fearful.  I accept his love affair with the XBox 360, and he accepts that I have a disturbing obsession with expensive peanut butter (and has even called to ask permission to eat some once – I am kind of a tyrant about that stuff!).  I hate that his closet extends to a corner in our bedroom where both dirty and clean clothes mingle together, and he hates that I scrape the tines of my fork between my teeth when I eat (which I have *NO* idea that I’m doing!).  We love each other anyway.

My life is better with this man in it, and I’m grateful to have found a love so special in this lifetime. Happy (almost) anniversary, love!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to FF: 3 years

  1. peasandcrayons says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww *deep breath* wwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

    Such a cute trip down memory lane! happy early anniversary to you crazy kids ❤

    xoxoxo

  2. lindsay says:

    anniversarys are so great, especially when you are blessed with a great man. Cheers!
    LC

  3. allieksmith says:

    Aww! So so cute 🙂 I smiled the whole time I was reading this post! LOVE IT! It seems like you 2 are made for each other 😉

  4. This is so sweet! I have to agree, it is pretty great when you find someone so special to be with! Enjoy each other!

    Oh and on your last post…breakfast…ice cream is always ok on oats and HEAB is a genius!

  5. Happy early anniversary! I love stories like this 🙂

  6. it’s really amazing and cool that you two found each other 🙂
    i love a good love story!

  7. Awww, so cute. You look so happy together–what a nice tribute to your relationship!

    It’s awesome to hear of people finding “the one”!

  8. I am really happy for you two. I hope you have many many more
    Ashlee

  9. Happy anniversary, and hope there is many many more to come

  10. Wow! What amazing words and what a beautiful post. *tear*

    Congrats and happy Anniversary! You two really found a great thing. 🙂

  11. LOVE this… love love love it!!
    That’s a great sweet story!! 🙂

    Happy Anniversary!

  12. that is just precious! I hope you guys have a great anniversary! Doing anything special?

  13. What a lovely post! I really like the comment “I just like hanging out with him” – that’s what it’s all about!
    Congratulations 🙂

  14. You two are so freaking cute!!! Happy Anniversary!! A perfect match, that’s for sure. 🙂

  15. Priyanka says:

    You guys make a great pair! Loved reading your story, its so cute!

    happy anniversary to y’all!

  16. Awww, this post is just too sweet! Loved the comparison of the xbox and the nut butter! Happy (early) anniversary!

  17. Meri says:

    Awww what a sweet post! This makes me feel warm and fuzzy and like I’ve been ignoring man-go-round all night haha 🙂

  18. so cute!!! happy early anniversary!!

  19. Erika says:

    Awww, you two are so darn cute! 🙂

  20. Rachel says:

    Awww! I love you guys! Congratulations on the almost-anniversary.

  21. Brandy says:

    I definitely made the uterus noises through this entire post. 😀 (My husband coined that phrase during the wedding planning, in case you’re curious.) Love is grand, ain’t it?

  22. Peggy says:

    Awww! How cute! And wishing you many more years to come!!

  23. Lee says:

    This is such a sweet post. Happy Almost Anniversary!

  24. aww this is precious 🙂 I love hearing stories about how couples met!

  25. janetha says:

    AWE this was so fun to see!

  26. rsmacaalay says:

    Hey advanced happy anniversary! Wishing you to have more fun years together!

  27. Adorable! You are obviously very happy together! I do the same thing with my fork and my husband hates it – I don’t even notice it!

  28. Pingback: Jam-Filled Deliciousness | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

