Sweet Potato Madness

As I gathered up the ingredients to make HEAB‘s cocoa roasted sweet potatoes yesterday,

I was inspired to experiment a bit too.

One sweet potato got the cocoa roasted treatment, and the other got the following.

Peanut Butter, Maca, & Nooch* Sweet Potatoes

(* I am giving in to using the word nooch even though I hate it because typing out nutritional yeast gets annoying.)

  • One medium sized sweet potato, cubed
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter melted and thinned with a little water
  • 1 tbsp nooch
  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • 1/4 tsp maca powder
  • splash vanilla extract

I mixed the above in a bowl, tossed the sweet potatoes in the mixture, and roasted them next to their cocoa counterparts in the oven at 375° for 50 minutes.

My god.  I ate them ALL.  The entire baking sheet.  They were both extremely delicious and worth the ginormous food baby I was carrying around after the fact.  Oh and Heather wasn’t kidding about how delicious the smell was throughout the house. I want to take a bath in these mixtures, they are so good!

Today I got a little sumthin sumthin in the mail!

A couple weeks ago I offered to send my friend Brandy at Second Chance Happiness a couple squeeze packs of Barney Butter so she could try it out before committing to a jar, and she suggested we make a full-on swap out of it, to which I happily agreed!

She sent homemade orange ginger granola and these amazing Great Balls of Fire, which are very akin to the (now retired) Cocoa Mole flavored Larabars, but BETTER.  I have already eaten three, and that bag might not make it through the day!

She also sent me these lovely handmade earrings!

Are those not the cutest?!

I’m too lazy to take my barbells out, so I just slip the other earring on next to it!  🙂

Brandy, thank you again for your generosity!  I love my gifts, and yours should be arriving before the end of the week!

Do you wear earrings?  I’ve just recently started wearing dangly earrings again. I think they’re so fun!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sweet Potato Madness

  1. I love dangly earrings but rarely wear them. I think CD and I need a date night soon b/c I am feeling the need to actually dress up like a girl – it’s been too long!

    I would have eaten the entire baking sheet of sweet potatoes as well. Gosh those looked good Christin. Love the idea of the PB dusted version, and I love all your Kirkland brand goodies. Thank goodness for Costco, no?

    P.S. I feel the same way about “nooch”, but yes, must easier to type! 🙂

  2. Haha! Every time I type the word “nooch” I think of how it makes you cringe, but it is SO much easier to type!

    So you finally jumped on the cocoa dusted sweet P bandwagon? Life altering, no? Why on Earth had I never thought of this before! Heather is a genius!

    I just started wearing dangly earrings a little over a year ago. I love them! But I can’t wear hoops…no matter the size, I always feel like they look stupid!

  3. OliePants says:

    Those earrings are darling! I do wear earrings but I’m boring and wear pretty much one pair at a time and don’t really switch it up on a daily basis.

  4. Love the earrings! The little bird is the best! I have a ton of dangly earrings, but I find that I usually just stick with the same thing all the time because its easy & no fuss & I’m lazy that way. : )

  5. lindsay says:

    my goodness is right, those look amazing. Great experiment! I like the earrings. i don’t wear jewelry unless I dress up, such a tom boy I guess.
    LC

  6. awww what a fun idea! =) all the food and goodies look great! I keep forgetting to pick up sweet potatoes and everytime I visit my peeps i’m sadly reminded that i cant eat a yummy SP tonight =( wahhhh! I better remember this weekend! =)

    xoXOxo

  7. and OMG those earrings are soooo cute!

  8. Brandy says:

    I’m just so glad you liked everything! 😀 I was a little weary that I was being lame with the earrings. But they had birdies. How could I resist sending birdies to the Purple Bird?! Just wish I’d had purple crystals on hand.

  9. thehungryscholar says:

    Those earrings are adorable! I also love sweet potatoes. I just started eating them last year. About time!

  10. Very exotic and well selected ingredients, no wonder it disappeared faster than the speed of light:) I can just imagine the aroma – combination of cocoa, vanilla, butter…

  11. inmytummy says:

    I love the combination of peanut butter and sweet potato.

    What does the maca taste like? I’ve been wanting to try it, but heard it’s kind of odd tasting.

  12. Those earrings are great!!!! Everyone is posting about sweet potatoes and I WANT one now!!!! I’m still waiting for my orange tan to come through w/all the orange foods i’m addicted to lately-thanks for helping with my fix, haha.

  13. Meri says:

    Your sweet potato smoosh looks sooo good.
    And I’m seriously jealous of those earrings. I have an earring problem and if I hadn’t recently recieved “birthday earrings” in the mail, I’d hunt you down and steal them haha.
    Just kidding.

  14. Loved those earrings!
    And I’d totally have eaten the whole sheet too..
    Gee, those babies looked AMAZING!
    Too bad I can’t seem to find nutritional yeast anywhere…
    Sometimes I hate living in Brazil. It seems like I’m always the last to try out stuff :/
    Great package, anyhow 🙂

  15. beaglebea says:

    Those earrings are so cute…love the little birdies…and I’ve made a roasted peanut and squash soup before…yummy combinations.

  16. oh delicious! i love your earrings… and I hav that same cinnamon too!! ITs SO GOOD! its like spicy or something!

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    I love those sweet potatoes it reminded me of my childhood snack called “kamote-cue” in Philippines, it looks nearly similar but it was deep fried together with melted red sugar, the taste is really amazing, we also do it with plantain bananas.

  18. Jen says:

    I really wish I liked sweet potatoes, because these look fabulous!!!!

    Jen

  19. Cocoa and sweet potatoes?! Uh… YUM!

  20. Those potatoes…um, I would have eaten the whole pan too! YUM! I love earrings, but am pretty minimal with them now. I don’t know why, but I just wear my hoops. Those are super cute!

  21. It sounds delish. There is SO MUCH I DON’T KNOW. It’s good I found your blog because nutritional yeast? What is this? And why should I be eating it? bah. I’ll have to do some research. Blog swaps are so much fun. New friends…gifts in the mail…new things to try – the possibilities are ENDLESS!

  22. allieksmith says:

    YUM! I have never used nutritional yeast but I’m thinking I should give it a try, I see it on a lot of blogs :D. I cannot believe those earrings are handmade.. soo cute!!

  23. I LOVE Nooch recipes!!!! I can’t wait to try that!

  24. gorgeous earrings & a mouth watering recipe = epic blog post 🙂

  25. I love earrings…but I’m too lazy to wear them!

    Ha—I also dislike the term nooch…but seriously, typing nutritional yeast all the time…it’s almost as much work as wearing earrings!

    ~Lisa

  26. Peggy says:

    Oh wow! You are definitely getting some awesome stuff in the mail! Love those earrings!

  27. Lucky you for getting such great gifts! 🙂 And those sweet potatoes sound amazing!!

  28. bijuterii says:

    Beautiful earrings !!! I have something similar whit owls 🙂

  29. My lord, those potatoes look INSANELY DELICIOUS! I mean insanely. And I want them. Now. I’m totally making these.

Leave a Reply

