Tempting Tempeh

Dinner a couple nights ago was based around the fact that I had a two pound bag of brussels that needed to be dealt with and a craving for tempeh.

I started by spilling my brussels sprouts all over the counter.

I gathered them all up and did the usual chopping the ends off and then in half bit. I selected my seasoning elements from the pantry.

I sauteed the sprouts in the olive oil flat side down until they browned, and then I splashed in some rice vingear and liquid aminos, a hefty sprinkling of garlic powder, and some squirts of Sriracha, stirred them periodically for a couple minutes and called it good.

I tempted the dogs with the tempeh, because I know you guys love these photos. Β *cough*Kristina*cough* Β πŸ˜‰

I pretty much just cubed it up and cooked it in the same pan I had used for the brussels with all the leftover browned goodness already in the pan and a little more olive oil.

On the side, even though it didn’t really fit with the theme, I made some cheezy quinoa in the rice cooker.

Perfectly filling with plenty of leftovers, which I consumed for both lunch before class and dinner after class yesterday.

I’m off to finish working, and then I have a date with these babies.

Massive stack o’ flashcards that I made over the weekend to prepare for my upcoming exam.

Be back tomorrow with some awesome sweet potatoness.

Have you ever had tempeh? How do you like to prepare it?

❀ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tempting Tempeh

  1. I love tempeh but haven’t braved making it yet! Love sprouts too! Those I love to make since they are soooo easy!

    awwwwww puppers!!!!! ❀

  2. Yum those brussels look great with the seasoning! I need to get some liquid aminos one of these days.

  3. Priyanka says:

    I love tempeh, I haven’t eaten it in a while but there are a couple of ways I want to make them. One being tempeh sloppy joes by Gina @candidRD and second my own tempeh fries!!

    Love your doggies, such cute faces!

  4. Marie says:

    Mmm sprouts. I make mine very similar to yours, but without the Sriracha. What was I thinking? Sriracha makes everything better. I love tempeh and usually just fix it raw as a sandwich filler, but next time I make the sprouts I’ll do tempeh, too (instead of tofu), looks delicious! Love the pups.

  5. I’ve never tried Tempeh and I don’t know what it is. Honestly. But I did cook Sprouts for us tonight and they were so good! Major yum! Exam = yucky.

  6. That huge stack of notecards does NOT look fun! I LOOOOVE the pic where you have actually captured the dog mid-lip-licking : ) Too cute!

  7. inmytummy says:

    I just can’t seem to like tempeh as much as I try. The brussels and quinoa look great.

  8. I really like tempeh! I just sauteed it until brown. That quinoa looks yummy πŸ™‚

  9. Sprouts and quinoa-yum…throw in some sweet potatoes and i’ll be nocking on your door!!!
    I love the dogs patiently waiting and hoping something falls on the floor, haha.
    I’ve never tried tempeh-isn’t that horrible?!

  10. Meri says:

    I love tempeh but I usually get it at restaurants, lest I screw it up πŸ™‚
    Oh, how I remember the days of flashcards when in school. They always helped me though!

  11. beaglebea says:

    I’ve never tried Tempeh. I have a sensitivity to soy, so I wonder if this would upset my stomach. Good luck with the studying. Cute doggie pictures..mine does the same thing in the kitchen..hoping for something to drop on the floor.

  12. Peggy says:

    I’ve never had tempeh, but you make it awful tempting!!

  13. you had me at brussel sprouts πŸ™‚ i usually just roast them, but sauteeing would be great, too!
    i’ve had tempeh sauteed…..it’s ok. gotta be in the mood for it.

  14. I love tempeh, but sadly can’t have it any more. That is my kind of dinner! YUM! Good luck with the studying.

  15. Not a huge tempeh fan but I’ll take that quinoa and sprouts ANY DAY. Lady, that meal looks delicious!!! I love what you did with the brussel sprouts. I never pan cook them since they never really get soft. How long did you cook them for? I like what you put on them… yum. And yum.

  16. allieksmith says:

    Brussel sprouts might be one of my favorite green veggies πŸ˜€ MMMM! I love the dog pictures hahaha, who would have known that dogs like tempeh?! LOL Good luck with the flash cards & exam πŸ™‚

  17. Kayla says:

    Never had tempeh! I love the photo of your dog licking his lips! I get photos of my dog like that and it is the cutest thing! Haha!

  18. I’ve only made tempeh once. I believe you saw it on my blog, where I basically just stir-fried up some broccoli and onions with stir-fry sauce and then added in cubed tempeh! Delish! I have 2 packages in the fridge that are just waiting on an idea!

  19. I LOVE Sweet potatoes! That is a great new way to cook them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

