Musing on Misspellings

I suppose I really should have said musing on typos, but that didn’t roll off the tongue as nicely.  Typos in publications both amuse me and piss me off at the same time.  Typos on food products pretty much just make me laugh.

Exhibit A:  My beloved Rose’s green salsa.

Unless an “acocado” is some surprise awesome ingredient I’ve never heard of, I’m fairly certain avocado is the correct ingredient.

Exhibit B:  On a more national level, Haagen Dazs Five Vanilla Bean ice cream.

The second T in “extrtact” is silent, in case you were wondering.

My break from school is officially over today, so I’m back to another crazybusy Monday.  I started reading a ton of awesome new blogs over the break, so please don’t be alarmed if I’m not commenting as much now that school is back in.  I will still be reading and I’ll comment as often as I can, especially on the weekends!

Back to the grind, and I’ll be back tomorrow with some tempeh and brussels awesomeness! Are you back at work today after the holiday, or did you even have a holiday to begin with? I had a break from school but not from work!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Musing on Misspellings

  1. Brandy says:

    Oh my goodness this is so funny! You and my hubby have something in common then. He cannot stand it. Then again, he’s a tech writing grad. 🙂 We met online…and he agreed to continue corresponding with me because I had acceptable grammar. He didn’t tell me until we were head over heels, but it makes a funny story nonetheless. Grammar for the win!

  2. That’s so funny! I was an English minor in undergrad and certain typos (or misspellings) always seem to drive me crazy! Even sometimes pronunciations can get to me – like how some people say “expecially” instead of “especially.” I’m weird, I know this : )

  3. Kayla says:

    That’s so funny! Spelling is one of the things that I am really good at so misspellings always annoy me!!

  4. bahahahahaha! I’m going to start scanning my pantry for misspellings! so funny!

  5. Funny, certainly didn’t expect this from Haagen Daz. Lets hope errors are confined to labbeling:)???

  6. lindsay says:

    hehe, I always love finding misprints like that! You’d think they would double check!
    Happy Studying. 😉

  7. that is funny.. spell check people!! 😉

    I am in the same boat, back to school on Wednesday, so I’ll still be reading but not commenting as much, and I won’t be posting as much either 😦

  8. thehungryscholar says:

    I love the blog. That is so funny. I’m in an English PhD program, and my students students refuse to use spell check. Their parents may behind these screwed up labels 🙂

  9. Amy says:

    Have you noticed all the typos they have on the online newspaper sites?

  10. hahaha!! I’m going to be checking all my foods for mispellings now. 😛

  11. Things like that bother me so much! I’ve had a thing about people misspelling things ever since I was in fifth grade and my teacher spelled everything wrong. My mom was horrified that her ten year old daughter was correcting a college educated woman’s spelling!

  12. allieksmith says:

    That is CRAZY! You would think people spell check??!

  13. Hahahaha-great post-love it! Hey they say if you cant pronounce the ingredients don’t eat it-does that apply here? haha

  14. inmytummy says:

    Haha, those are awesome. There is a Chinese restaurant near me that has a big sign on the front that says “Teh Pagoda”. The menu says The Pagoda though. So they either didn’t catch the typo the huge sign or didn’t seem to care. My husband and I actually call the restaurant “Teh.”

  15. Erika says:

    Call me a nerd, but I love finding misspellings on things. You wouldn’t believe how many unintentional mistakes I find in my school Proofreading Book. It’s actually kind-of funny how they don’t practice what they preach. 🙂

  16. It’s crazy hpw typos like that can be mised 😉

  17. Ohhhh, misspellings make my eye twitch! Haha!

  18. Priyanka says:

    hmmm those typos are quite interesting, I am going to read the labels particularly well now!

  19. Meri says:

    haha- that is funny. There’s an ingredient in this condiment that I get that is “fefferoni,” which isn’t a typo, but it is a funny ingredient and it makes me laugh 🙂

  20. Oh.My.Gosh.
    PLEASE tell me you emailed or called or sent smoke signals to the companies that published those labels so they can correct them!
    That is ridiculous….and sort of funny.
    My mom and I are like grammar/spelling nazis, and practically go ballistic when we see stuff like this. There was actually an article in Reader’s Digest about two guys who would carry around black Sharpie markers to correct signs they saw in store fronts, on the street, etc.
    Living in a big city, I see it all the time now.
    It absolutely blows my mind when I see people putting apostrophes where they don’t belong. For example–> in a school newsletter or something: Mom’s don’t forget about the Mommy/Daughter fashion show.
    Anyway! Thanks for sharing this!

  21. That is fantastic! I’m glad that I found your blog! It is so much easier to be healthy and to make good decisions when I read inspirational healthy blogs! I hope that studying goes well and I’m glad you had a break!

  22. Erica D says:

    WTF? I blame the economy for this. No one wants to hire proofreaders anymore!

    Ah well, at least they didn’t screw up the actual food. Uh….right?

    Have an amazing week time at school! I start class again next Monday; can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

