Dough Balls by Accident

So I know everyone is sugared out from the holidays and the last post you want to see is another baked good, but I just made my own version of dough balls by accident and I have to share.

It all started innocently enough. I was messing around on Facebook and catching up on my Google reader studying and needed a break. I felt like baking.  A while ago I was intrigued by Liz‘s recipe for almond butter cookies and bookmarked it, and I stumbled across it while perusing my recipes.  Per usual, I decided to amend the recipe and do my own thang to a certain extent.  I used peanut butter for almond butter, 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla bean paste for the 1 tsp of extract, 1/2 cup of semisweet chocolate chips instead of the chopped almonds, and coconut oil for the olive oil.

When I was mixing everything together I noticed the coconut oil was pretty congealed (it was cold in my house and there was cold maple syrup in the mix), so I started using my hands to mix the dough so that the heat from my hands might aid in melting the coconut oil.  It worked pretty well, but there were still a few clumps throughout.  I decided to just roll with it and see what happened.

I scooped out my dough with my cookie scooper onto my parchment paper lined baking sheets and baked them at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. While in the oven, I noticed they weren’t flattening out all that much but I let them be. I allowed them to rest on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

The result was insanely better than I ever could have imagined.  They are slightly crusty on the outside and soft and doughy through the middle. The coconut flavor and the peanut butter flavor both shine through and complement each other perfectly.

I taste tested a couple because I could hardly believe I had made such an awesome cookie!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Coconut Dough Balls

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
  • 1 cup whole wheat  flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mix everything together (I used a spatula and then my hands).  Bake at 350° for 10 minutes, allow to cool for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.  Bam!

And because they’re vegan, I saved some of the dough to add to a bowl of coconut milk vanilla bean ice cream I bought today.  🙂

❤ C

 

This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Dough Balls by Accident

  1. spabettie says:

    oh YUM. these look awesome. and I *LOVE* the photos you add with the pups in them, YES I will say this every time!! 😀

    xo

  2. *drool* I can send you my address if you want 😉 hehe… they look delish!

  3. Meri says:

    I get “sugared out” for like a day, and then I want more… which is going to make my “eat less sugar” goal a bit more difficult 🙂
    these look yummy!

  4. Wow, those look REALLY Good!!!! I’m glad the almond butter cookie recipe was “inspiring” 😉 I’ll definitely have to try this type!!

  5. Oh my goodness, those look so tasty! I might have to make those! So super tasty. I could lick the screen. No good.

  6. Erica D says:

    It’s almost 4 AM and I can’t sleep because I’m still sugarized.

    But these still look good! And I have everything to make them!! And I always love veganization.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Those are the types of cookies that I want, I call them mentos cookies : )
    Its soft and chewy on the inside and crunchy on the outside.
    Yummy!

  8. looks good! i love the big chunks of chocolate! : ) And, the pic w/ the dog beggin – another winner!

  9. Heck yeah girl! You rock them dough balls! They look so moist and delicious! When I made Mama Pea’s version, I was a little disappointed with the drier/crumbly texture, but yours look perfect! Great job!

  10. Brandy says:

    Totally just made Mama Pea’s pb doughballs this morning because we’re meeting my aunt for lunch, and I wanted to give her something. 🙂 These look AMAZING…..makes me wish I’d stop being so cheap and buy some darn coconut oil. 😉

  11. Sounds absolutely yummy. Not many cookies use coconut oil, good idea since it adds nice flavour.

  12. Oh, GEE!
    These look incredible.
    I wish I had chocolate chips, vanilla paste and maple syrup here..
    Holy YUM!
    😉

  13. Erika says:

    Don’t you love when that happens! 🙂

  14. In a perfect world, every accident would end in cookie dough balls. 😛

  15. Pingback: Date Night, Some Soup, and a Potholder | Purple Bird Blog

  16. Oh boy, oh boy! Those look SO GOOD!!! 🙂

  17. Marie says:

    Wow these look amazing, I need to get more coconut oil!

  18. I’m totally making these tonight. Oh my. They look great!

Leave a Reply

