Rainbow Yogurt

COOKIES.

Oh my word.

Gooey goodness.

Thursday I made these dough balls, with my only variations being to use a teaspoon of salt instead of a 1/2 teaspoon (based on one of the comments), the magic vanilla bean paste in place of the extract, and I used Earth Balance for the first batch, realized I needed to make more but was out of Earth Balance, so I used some Smart Balance Light that I had on hand. Both sets were divine.

The dough chillin’ in the fridge.

Gettin’ ready for hot oven lovin’.

They were the perfect amount of not-sweet and so doughy in the middle.

I also made another round of the no-bake cookies I made the other day.

This time I only used about 3/4 cup of peanut butter and they held together much better. My classmates were extremely happy with their delicious Christmas gifts!  🙂

I switched up my usual tofu pho order to try something else last night.

We went to Pho Hoang this time, my old roommate’s family’s restaurant, and rather than get the pho with the beef broth I got another kind of soup with chicken/pork broth, tofu, and lots of veggies including baby bok choy, one of my favorites.  This did not disappoint and really hit the spot last night, as usual.  I will definitely be ordering this again.

Tonight Alex and I went to dinner (an awesome vegetarian curry place called Curry in a Hurry, where I completely neglected to photograph my dinner!) and then for frozen yogurt, where I got this artificial color-laden delicacy.

My flavors from the top going clockwise are peanut butter, a pistachio/taro swirl, and red velvet cake (!) with some Reese’s Pieces. A helluva combination if I do say so myself! Worth every dairy-filled bite.  🙂

Head on over to Katie’s vegan hug post if you haven’t seen it yet… you can catch me canoodling with a very special vegan ingredient.

I hope you all had a relaxing and rejuvenating Sunday.  Me?  I did two practice massages on friends that live on opposite sides of town, some homework, dinner with the guy, cartoons cuddled on the couch with him and the pups, and now it is bedtime-thirty!

Anyone traveling this week for Christmas?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rainbow Yogurt

  1. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow look at that melting chocolate in that cookie. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. Diana says:

    Glad the cookie dough balls worked out for you! They look fabulous! I’m traveling for Christmas but will luckily only be spending a couple hours in the car. I’m so glad I don’t live too far from family. 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  3. you’ve been crazy bakin’, huh?! how fun. i LOVE baking and just finally got to get some creations going in the kitchen for the first time in quite a while.
    that pistachio/taro combo sounds awesome.
    going to check out the vegan hug post….

  4. Whoa! Looks to me like you’ve got some serious baking talent! How come my chocolate chip cookies never end up looking like that? Kudos to you:)

  5. no cookies for me! i will, however, steal your soup! =)

  6. Your yogurt picture is so pretty! I’m a sucker for pastels in the middle of the holiday season when everyone else is all gaga for red and green 🙂
    Those cookies look awesome lady!

  7. YUM! I tried red velvet frozen yogurt yesterday. It was ridiculously good 🙂

  8. rachel says:

    AH WOW those cookies look lush!!!

  9. Brandy says:

    I made dough balls yesterdday too, and very nearly made that very recipe! But then I decided I wanted peanut butter dough balls and made Mama Pea’s…but with butter because the store I went to didn’t have earth balance (and I’m not vegan so I just rolled with organic instead). Seriously, dough balls might be my favorite cookie now. And drop cookies take me back to childhood! I didn’t realize those were common. Is it a Texas thing?

    And yes, we’re making the pilgrimage (with puppy this time) to just outside of Houston from just outside of Dallas. It could be fun or disaster. We shall see!

  10. inmytummy says:

    Yum. This post is making me hungry!

  11. Omg….. I need one of those dough balls right now. My mouth is watering!!!!!!!!! 🙂 MMMMMMMMMm

    As for that rainbow yougert, it looks good too!!!!!! Oh man… dangerous post!

  12. I’ve had that dough ball recipe bookmarked on my laptop since I made Mama Pea’s. They looked more like what I was expecting. I can’t wait to try it out!

    No traveling for me, fortunately, my parents are only a 40 minute drive away.

  13. Lori says:

    You do know those cookies look INCREDIBLE, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

