Feasting With Friends

Last night was a wonderful night full of food and friends.

Our good friends John and Hannah joined Alex, Crystalyn, and me for dinner at our place.

Alex is a super goober.

Blurry but blissful bestieroomie.

Alex showcasing his meat. *ahem*

The boys were in charge of grilling the chicken, riblets, shrimp, and crab legs.

Meats.

Craaaaab.  ❤

I was in charge of the cornbread, mashed potatoes, and asparagus. Confession:  Last night was my first time to ever make real mashed potatoes.  I know, I’m some kind of communist.

Made with almond milk, Earth balance, salt, pepper, and tons of garlic.

Bob’s Red Mill GF cornbread mix sweetened up a bit with some honey and brown sugar.

It was a proper feast!  My plate had a little of everything.  And plenty more unpictured crab legs made their way into my belly.  I had quite the crab food baby going on by the end. Delectable!

After dinner while the boys played video games, Hannah and I made some sugar cookies.

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup Earth Balance, softened
  • 1 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp MAGIC VANILLA BEAN PASTE

Combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda in one bowl.  In another bowl cream together sugars and butter.  Add egg and vanilla.  Slowly add dry ingredients and mix until fully combined.  I used a little cookie scooper to lay these out on the baking sheets.

Bake at 375° for 8-10 minutes.  Leave on cookie sheet for 2 minutes before removing to wire cooling racks.  I made mostly plain sugar, but I also made some snickerdoodley ones too.

These all came out perfectly.  Not too sweet, soft with a perfectly chewy center.  A perfect end to a wonderful night.

Sunday was productive, full of work and massage practice.  Now off to watch Fox’s Animation Domination line-up with the man and the pups.  G’night!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Baking, Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Feasting With Friends

  1. How fun! Looks like you guys had a blast =) I still need to learn how to bake… I’ve decided that once I do learn how, i’m totally using earth balance and almond milk. I’m kind of anti-dairy as of lately. (but i still love cheese. ahhh i’m awful!)

    xoXOx0

  2. Jess says:

    Cookies look yummy, I can’t wait to do some holiday baking!

  3. Erin says:

    Yum, those cookies look great. It’s always fun to find new Christmas cookie recipes.

  4. Those cookies look perfect – like too good to be true! I love super garlicky mashed potatoes, too! Gotta have that fresh garlic…makes such a difference!

  5. Meri says:

    mmmm- add some cinnamon to those cookies and you’d have yourself some snickerdoodles! They look really yummy. It feels like a cookie weekend…
    Meri

  6. janetha says:

    looks like you had such a great time with your friends, all the food looks great–i am loving the paste!

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow crabs, I love those but too sad its really too expensive here all I can do is just drool in my laptop screen!

  8. Wow! Looks like an amazing dinner! I’ve never cooked crab legs myself. For some reason, I always think I have to go out for that!

    Your cookies look perfect! Don’t you just love having a cookie scooper? I just got one and it has changed my life! 😉

  9. Kayla says:

    Ooh, the sugar cookies really DID come out picture-perfect! They look great!

Leave a Reply

