Goat Cheese & Spinach Lasagna

I’ve been wanting to make a lasagna for a while now. I had never made one before, but it seemed easy enough, and I wanted to have fun with it. I drew some loose inspiration from Allison and Mama Pea, but I totally made this my own crazy creation.

I found these noodles on sale the other day at Whole Paycheck.

See my creepy reflection in the microwave? Β πŸ™‚

Butternut squash lasagna sounded awesome, but I figured I’d take it in a different direction by making a butternut squash sauce instead.

I put the whole can of squash puree into a pot with water to thin, a scoop of the powdered goat’s milk, 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, 1 tsp garlic powder, a drizzle of olive oil, and freshly ground black pepper. I mixed and warmed this while my noodles were boiling. Once they were ready, I began my layering.

Sauce on the bottom, followed by a layer of noodles, sauce, and a layer of spinach.

More noodles, more sauce, and a quinoa/goat cheese layer.

I had cooked up a cup of quinoa in my rice cooker earlier with 1 1/2 cups water and one chicken bullion cube, and to that I stirred in a pretty hefty amount of plain goat cheese log.

Once that was all layered on, I added more sauce, one more layer of noodles, the rest of the sauce, and I topped everything with some crumbled goat cheese and torn slices of goat gouda.

Into the oven at 375Β° for 30 minutes.

It came out fannnnntastic! Β The flavors mesh really well together, and nothing overpowers anything else. Β The mild goat cheese makes a delicious ricotta substitute, and the quinoa gives it a nice chew (and a protein boost!).

Next time I would definitely use more sauce and more spinach, but otherwise this is a big winner. Β Alex liked it too!

What recipes have you put a nontraditional spin on?

I hope you all Β have a great Saturday evening. Β We are having some friends over to cook and hang out, should be a blast!

❀ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Goat Cheese & Spinach Lasagna

  1. Jess says:

    i am obsessed with goat cheese!

  2. omg – this looks amazing!!!! I rarely make lasagnas because I’m always looking for something faster, but I’ll have to keep in mind this quinoa/goat cheese mixture because it looks amazing!

  3. Meri says:

    mmmm that looks incredible. I have to make this- it has everything I love. I’ve tried to find nutritional yeast at co-ops before, do you have to go to a health food store? Or have you bought it at whole foods/ coops before?
    Cheers!
    Meri

    • I have purchased it from Whole Foods in the bulk section and a local store Sprouts in the can that I have pictured on the blog. I know you can get it from Amazon and iHerb as well! πŸ™‚

  4. lindsay says:

    I love that flavor lasagna!! Delicous! I’ve seen pumpkin flavored ones too with the same recipe. Buttery goodness. πŸ™‚

  5. biz319 says:

    Two things I’ve never heard of – canned squash and powdered goat milk! I love anything goat cheese, but I’ll have to make this for my lunch – I think if I brought that to my family for dinner, they would throw up in their mouths a little – but I think it looks delicious!

  6. that is a great spin on lasagna! i think all i’d have to do is use a non dairy cheese, gf pasta, and add some tomato sauce of some kind.
    it’s weird to think i’m 30 some years old and have NEVER made a lasagna!

    i put a non-traditional spin on almost everything i make.
    my fave: gluten/dairy/egg free black bean brownies πŸ™‚

  7. Erika says:

    I’m not a big fan of traditional lasagna, but this looks delicious! I love spinach and goat cheese. πŸ˜€

  8. Allie says:

    Mmmm what an interesting/creative/tasty recipe!!!

  9. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the addition of the quinoa – brilliant! πŸ™‚ Very nicely done sister! (PS – I was in a wedding this weekend – but I got your package Friday – I’m gonna give ya a shout out this week! πŸ™‚

  10. your school pics progression…LOVE IT. your sr pic turned out beautifully….as did that lasagna πŸ™‚

  11. Wow girl! All those flavors! Sounds amazing!

    I’ve been known to put a non-traditional spin on anything I make…especially in a “need to use ______ before it expires” emergency! I once made chili that was super HOTT so to mellow it out I threw in cauliflower and cabbage! I was all out of beans!

  12. Judy says:

    This looks delicious. I will be trying this out on my kids this week πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

