Kitchen Creations

I started off my Sunday with a magnificent breakfast.

Smoked ham, spinach, egg, and nutritional yeast scramble topped with this delicious salsa.

Green salsa rocks my socks!

I spent the bulk of the afternoon in the kitchen creating some serious awesomeness and one total flop.  More on that later.

I made two granolas today, one cinnamon maple and one peanut butter, both based off Polly’s granola recipes with my own additions and substitutions.

First batch contained –

  • 2 1/4 cups oats
  • 3/4 cup raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • unsweetened shredded coconut

I mixed everything except the coconut together and put it in the oven at 325° for about 50 minutes, stirring occasionally until toasty.  Once out of the oven I added the coconut.

The second batch was simply 2 1/2 cups oats, 1/3 cup peanut butter, 1/3 cup maple syrup, and 1 tbsp coconut oil. Same oven temp, but this one you have to stir more often because it will brown more quickly.

Next up was a shredded brussels sprouts saute of sorts, loosely inspired by Mama Pea’s crunchy shredded sprouts salad, but with actual meat bacon.  For my version, I cooked up two pieces of uncured bacon to very crispy and then used the fat to saute the shredded sprouts (run through a food processor, and I only have a 4 cup processor, so a 2 lb bag of sprouts processed 6-7 at a time was quite a lengthy feat!) along with a drizzle of olive oil, some Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, and garlic powder.  I crumbled up the two pieces of bacon and added that back in at the end.

Oh my lord.

Truly a treasure.  I will definitely be making this again!

I also made some sweet potatoes a la Kath’s low and slow method but with yellow curry powder instead of pepper.

I insist that you make sweet potatoes in this fashion.  Even Alex who hates sweet potatoes LOVED these.

Next up was recreating some beloved cookies my grandmother used to make, but a bit healthier.  Her recipe for chocolate-peanut butter-oatmeal no-bake cookies is pretty much identical to the recipe located here but with 1/2 cup of cocoa powder.  In reading the recipe, I figured I could cut the sugar from 2 cups in half and have them come out even better, and I was right.

I mixed 3 cups of oats with 1 cup of peanut butter and a tablespoon of vanilla in a bowl. Then I brought 3/4 cups organic cane sugar + 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla Almond Milk, 1/2 cup Earth Balance, and 1/2 cup raw cacao powder to a boil on the stove and poured the hot mixture over the oats/PB. I ended up having to add another 1/2 cup or so of oats because there was too much liquid, but once it was all combined I used a cookie scooper to measure out my cookies and put them on wax paper to set up.

The raw cacao powder and reduced sugar made these incredibly delectable and rich, and definitely just the right amount of sweet. I think that 3/4 cups of peanut butter might actually work better (Did I just say less peanut butter?  I might be ill) because these didn’t form up quite as well as I remember them doing in the past, but it doesn’t even matter. These are insanely yummy!

I also made a batch of kale chips that are dehydrating right now.

I whisked together a cup of plain hummus, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon True Lemon, 1/2 cup nutritional yeast, and warm water to thin, and then coated that beautiful bowl of torn curly kale and put those babies in the dehydrator.  By morning I will have kale chip divinity.

I also discovered that my Lucy-dog likes raw kale.  Alrighty then.

And now for the kitchen failure.  This is supposed to be a delicious molasses biscuit.

Give me some mortar and I could’ve built a house with these things.  Bricks, baby.  I left out the baking powder.  😉  I’m gonna do ’em over someday, and if they actually work out I’ll post the recipe.

Whew!  Congrats if you actually read the whole thing.  🙂  I’m off to go study some leg muscles for my quiz tomorrow.  Did you know the sartorius is the longest muscle in the body?  Now you know, and knowledge is power!

What wonderful things did you eat today?

❤ C

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Kitchen Creations

  1. Jess says:

    Sweet potatoes look awesome! Good luck on your quiz:)

  2. Hannah says:

    Those cookies look AWESOME! I will be making some as soon as finals are over later this week! Today I had left over spaghetti squash that I made Friday, along with the roasted squash seeds. I had no idea until Friday that you could roast squash seeds just like pumpkin seeds, AMAZING! I would love to try making my own kale chips one day. Do they turn out even better made at home then the packaged ones at Whole Foods? Cause those are already so delicious!

  3. rsmacaalay says:

    I love that spinach, egg, salsa and ham combination. What a breakfast to start a day!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  4. Wow! You were superwoman in the kitchen today (minus the unfortunate biscuit, lol)! Wish you could share! : )

  5. allieksmith says:

    Your breakfast DOES look magnificent! You went hard core in the kitchen too, lucky! I made those oh-so fun baking mistakes all the time haha gotta love it 🙂

  6. Is that a little baby clementine? it’s making my mouth water! If I didn’t consistently squirt myself in the face with them, I think I would eat them non-stop until spring!

    Meri

  7. Yum! If you love salsa verde and can handle mucho heat — try Mrs. Renfros Green salsa…. it’s amazing but instead of tomatillos… it’s made out of jalapenos!!!!! ahhh im about to drool just thinking about it =)

    I put salsa on my eggs too =)

  8. Jen says:

    I LOVE kale chips!! How do you make yours??

  9. lindsay says:

    can you bring some of those marvelous creations over to my house!:?! I love the brussel sprout shred. That stuff is good! Enjoy your time with the pups and bf. ANd happy studying!
    🙂

  10. Pingback: Lovely Leftovers | Purple Bird Blog

  11. OH MY GOSH! MY GRANDMA USED TO MAKE THOSE COOKIES TOO!! EXACT SAME ONES 🙂
    sooooooo good aren’t they? i have requests from my dad and uncle EVERY year to make those, because apparently i’m the only one who can make them like she did 🙂
    i’ve always toyed with the idea of making them healthier, without dairy and with gluten free oats.
    anyway-ALL your eats look delish!

  12. Kayla says:

    My dog loves spinach and carrots!! It’s the funniest thing!

  13. Pingback: Honor Yourself | Purple Bird Blog

  14. I love new granola recipes!!!

    Whitney

  15. Pingback: Rainbow Yogurt | Purple Bird Blog

  16. Wow, great-looking scramble and amazing-looking cookies! Might have to give both a go 🙂

  17. Pingback: Musing on Misspellings | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

