Bacon Extravaganza

So I’m a lucky lady who has had the privilege of my man making me dinner the past two nights because I’m such a busy bee.  Last night was a bit of a bacon extravaganza.

He braised Napa cabbage that his folks sent back with him from Oklahoma in some bacon fat.

And served it topped with crumbly crispy bacon chunks.

And dessert was Haagen Daas Five Vanilla Bean (small portions don’t bother my tummy too bad, and this stuff is soooooo worth it) topped with…

more bacon!

Crazy?  Perhaps.  Delicious?  Oh most definitely!  The vanilla was flavor was super intense and then gave way to the awesomely salty bacon.  I die.

Tonight he cooked up some soup his parents also sent back, some kind of lentil veggie soup with the addition of some smoked ham.

We have a cold front blowing in, so this definitely hit the spot.

I am finally going to get to spend some time in the kitchen tomorrow!  I have a brussels sprouts dish, some granola, and some cookies on the agenda.  Can’t wait!  How are you spending your Sunday?

❤ C

Napa Cabbage on FoodistaNapa Cabbage

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bacon Extravaganza

  1. my friends and I have a running joke about bacon. I haven’t eaten it in 5 years but i get bacon texts/fb wall posts almost daily thanks to an epic story I tell about a pensacola kid who screamed in excitement when he realized bacon came in a sprinkle can (bacon bits) and proceeded to beg “oh daddy! BACON daddy! can we please have some? you could sprinkle it ontop of my grilled cheese and that’d be real nice daddy! BACON!”

    typing it doesnt do it justice. but i have a soft spot for bacon ever since.. hahaha

    xoXOxo

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    Mmmm, Ice cream and bacon! I love that! Have you tried sunday and french fries?

  3. lindsay says:

    girl, that is heaven on a dish! I love bacon with that vanilla bean. Salty and sweet can’t be beat. 🙂

  4. allieksmith says:

    BACON!!! Yuuuuuum 🙂 You are so, so lucky that your man cooks for ya! The ice cream sounds especially delicious!

  5. Alisa says:

    Ahh everything tastes so much better with bacon. I Love it with the napa cabbage! I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this Napa Cabbage Widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about napa cabbage recipes,Thanks!

  6. Mmmm, that bacon and cabbage looks great! Can’t say I’ve ever topped my ice cream with bacon though….well, can’t knock it till ya try it, right? 😉

  7. Pingback: Musing on Misspellings | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

