Homemade Tortillas!

The most beautiful lady cardinal was in my bird feeder today.  This picture is not great because it was shot through a window with a screen on it, but look at how brilliant orange her beak is!

Tonight I turned these –

into these!

I used the recipe found here but used whole wheat flour.

There was a little trial and error in getting them rolled out thin enough, so the first couple were more like flatbread, but still super tasty.  I don’t have a rolling pin (WTF?), so I flattened each ball out with a Pyrex casserole dish and then rolled them out with a glass… worked like a charm!

About 45 seconds to a minute on each side.  Sooooooper easy!

I used them to make “clean out the fridge tacos.”

I had some black beans, canned pumpkin, and tomato paste all open in the fridge, so I combined them all with some nutritional yeast, garlic powder, and cinnamon.  I know it sounds freaky, but I assure you it was indeed edible and also quite delicious.

Be back tomorrow with some roasted veggie action.  Have a great night!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Homemade Tortillas!

  1. I am so excited to try this recipe! They look really really yummy! If it makes you feel better I don’t have a rolling pin either….I usually use a glass also! lol I am really intrigued by your use of nutritional yeast and how healthy everything you make is, can you use the yeast in anything? Not sure how to word this so if it comes out weird…how did you start cooking so healthy? What made you want to cook that way? I have really wanted to start cooking healthier, but it kinda scares me cause I still want everything to taste good. Sorry about all the questions! lol 🙂

  2. Loved this recipe – thanks for sharing, girl!
    😀

  3. Those came out perfect! I need to have one of those “cleaning out the fridge” meals, too!

  4. Pingback: Roasted Veggie Perfection | Purple Bird Blog

  5. hmmmm………wonder if that would work with rice flour. i shall try 🙂

  6. ob-sessed. I have to try this!!!! is it as easy as it looks? =)

  7. Brandy says:

    It took me forever to splurge on a rolling pin! Why is that?? I was using empty bottles. 🙂 Then I found a Paula Dean French-style pin at Wal-Mart for $11. Totally worth the splurge! It’s made my baking projects so much less frustrating. Just sayin’. 🙂

  8. Crystalyn says:

    You non-messicans and your fascination with the making of tortillas. AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

