Cracker Tattoo?

Somebody found my blog today using the search term “cracker tattoo.” Should I be offended or honored?   🙂

Yesterday I was bummed out that a let most of a perfectly delicious loaf of bread go stale. The same multi-grain bread as in this post.

And then it occurred to me that I could make bread pudding.  I Google searched and found this recipe, which sounded awfully sweet but I felt it had potential.  I whisked together 2-1/4 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup sugar, a heaping tablespoon of cinnamon (I’m kind of a fiend), and a splash of vanilla.  I cubed up my bread, put it in the bowl with the liquid, and used my hands to mix it all up, making sure all bread was saturated.  I then folded in 6 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips, put it in a greased Pyrex 8×8 casserole dish, and baked it 350° for 45 minutes.

Before baking.

And AFTER.

Be still my beating heart!  This is deeeee-licious.  There were sunflower seeds in the bread, and the combination of that with the chocolate chips is sheer magic.  And by halving the original amount of sugar and the chocolate chips, using almond milk instead of whole milk, and using whole grain bread instead of white, I substantially improved the nutritionals on this bad boy.

I’m still up in the air about tonight.  I should stay in and do homework, but a bunch of folks I’d like to see are at a thing.  I’m gonna shower and figure it out.  Enjoy your Saturday night!

-C

 

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cracker Tattoo?

  1. Toni says:

    That bread looks great! Have a good Saturday night!

  2. amy says:

    Go to the thing! Get up early and catch up on you homework. I don’t like bread pudding but that looks good!

  3. NExt time I have an abundance of bread, i need to remember to make something like this! yum!

  4. I love tweaking recipes! And almond milk sounds like a good swap for whole milk. I hope you had a fun night!

Leave a Reply

