Ode to Costco

The dogs were incredibly bright eyed and bushy tailed at 4:30 this morning.

Me, not so much.

I crawled out of bed super early to drive a friend to the airport.  And came home and promptly passed the hell back out till 9:30. 🙂

I effing LOVE Costco.  Like, if they required your first born child in order to have a membership there, I would totally submit and hand him or her over when the time came.

Wanna see today’s loot?

Spinach, fuji apples, bananas, sweet potatoes, asparagus, Normandy frozen veggie blend, black beans,

melatonin (zzzzz so good), ZBars, cherry/raspberry/blood orange preserves (yes please!), whole grain bread, and eggs.

Oh, and this guy.

Which I totally ate half in the car on the way home.  And ate the rest a short time later.  Sushi of any form cannot be trusted in my presence.  I will DESTROY it.

But seriously, if you have a Costco in your area and don’t have a membership, you have no idea what you’re missing.  I got all that food up there for $73.  Ain’t too shabby considering that all of that is organic produce, and there’s a pound of spinach, 12 apples, 9 bananas, 2 pounds of asparagus, eight cans of black beans, 24 granola bars, two loaves of bread, 18 eggs, etc. and so on.  If I could marry Costco, I just might.  (Sorry, Alex!)

This is Rambo in his Rambo-nest on the floor next to my desk.

Dinner was quick and easy, and starred this lovely fellow.

Check out that mound of gorgeous garlicky guts in the middle. O.o

I made another grilled goat cheese, this time using goat gouda, goat cheese log, garlic hummus, and spinach.

I love melty hummus so much.

I have a super special recipe to share with you guys, but you’ll have to wait till tomorrow. I’ll leave you with this teaser.

What does everyone have going on for the weekend?

-C

This entry was posted in Dinner, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ode to Costco

  1. Peggy says:

    Definitely a big fan of Costco too! We don’t have a membership, but when our friends (that do have a membership!) go, we’re definitely begging to tag along!

  2. Julie says:

    Totally going to try the Gouda-hummus-spinach toastie. Looks yummy!

  3. i can honestly say i don’t think i’ve ever been to Costco! (hangs head in shame)
    that goat cheese/hummus sandwich looks incredible 🙂 gotta find me some decent egg free gluten free bread stat!
    weekend plans: parent teacher conference for daughter, pick up “the neverending story” from the library, church, watch football, exercise, make hummus, and clean.
    not much 😉

  4. Rachel says:

    I adore Costco as well. We’ve had a membership for a few years now and I don’t think we’ll be giving it up. We switched to the Executive level membership after the first year and it has paid off; we get back more than $100 back from our annual dividends each year.

    Let me know how the preserves taste, I was eying them the last time we were there. 🙂

  5. lindsay says:

    wanna go to costco for me next time? hehe. I think we buy the exact same things, minue the bread. Wish they sold GF bread. 😦

Leave a Reply

