Happy Pie, Sad Casserole

Yesterday I ate a couple peanut butter smooshies for first breakfast. And second breakfast was this beautiful leftover concoction.

Thanks again, Julie, for sending me home with this!   Delicious Mexican casserole, courtesy of a Cooking Light magazine from 1995!!! 🙂

Chiles Rellenos Casserole

  • ½ pound ground chicken
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 ¾ teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 ½ teaspoons dried oregano
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • 1 (16-oz) can fat-free refried beans
  • 2 (4-oz) cans whole green chiles, drained and cut lengthwise into quarters
  • 1 cup (4 oz) preshredded Colby-Jack cheese
  • 1 cup frozen whole kernel corn, thawed and drained
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups skim milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 egg whites

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook chicken and onion in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until browned, stirring to crumble.  (Note:  The chicken may only turn white and not brown but will still be done).  Combine chicken mixture, cumin and next 5 ingredients in a bowl.  Stir well and set aside.

Arrange half the green chile strips in an 11×7-inch baking disk; top with half the cheese.  Spoon mounds of bean mixture onto cheese and spread gently, leaving a ¼-inch border around edge of dish; top with corn.  Arrange remaining chile strips over corn; top with remaining cheese.  Set aside.

Combine flour and salt in a bowl; gradually add milk and hot sauce, stirring with a wire whisk until blended.  Stir in eggs and egg whites; pour over casserole.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 5 minutes or until golden brown and set; let stand 5 minutes before serving.  Yield:  6 servings (serving size:  one 3 ½-inch square).

Topped with this fantastic discovery, also courtesy of my friend Julie.

For the Austinites out there, this salsa is local and apparently can be found in the refrigerated section by the cheese and what not. It is the FRESHEST, best tasting jarred salsa I have EVER eaten. I highly recommend acquiring this and putting it on anything and everything.

In the afternoon I made this recipe that I saw replicated (and HEABified, of course) on a HEAB post the other day.

I stuck to the original recipe with my substitutions being to use peanut butter instead of almond butter and pumpkin pie spice (like Heather did) for the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.  I also decided to cook it in a round pie plate rather than cutting it into bars, and I didn’t make the icing, because it didn’t need it.

Make. This. NOW.

It tastes like the most magical, peanut butter kissed pumpkin pie filling EVER.  I topped a slice with a little smear of peach jelly.

Crazygood.  I mentioned to my roomie that I am so excited to have two new easy, go-to desserts with the smooshies and this pie-like awesomeness, and she said, “The smooshies are good. THIS is SPECTACULAR.”  🙂

What’s that you say?  You want to see a gratuitous photo of super cute, beggin-ass dogs?

Done and done.

I rounded out the evening by making a sub-par casserole. It wasn’t bad, but it was definitely lacking.

I used this pasta.

along with some sauteed chicken breasts, frozen broccoli and peas, a goat milk/nutritional yeast sauce, and some cornmeal as a bread crumb sub.  I’m going to work on it, and I’ll get back to you once it’s a better recipe.

I’ll be eating it for a few days anyway, as it cooked up quite a bit.  I need to take some casserole tips from my girl, Janetha. She makes some professional looking casseroles!  🙂

Have a great Monday!

-C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Pie, Sad Casserole

  1. So glad you liked the pumpkin bars, and I think they’re much more fun when they come in pie shape. 🙂

    Your casserole sounded delicious to me – might have to join your beggin-ass dogs and ask for a bite. 😉

  2. Zelinda says:

    That pie looks amazing!

  3. Maegan says:

    I LOVE a good casserole (especially King Ranch Chicken), and if I can say- yours looks a little “dry”. Usually they call for cream of mushroom or chicken soup, to keep things creamy. Maybe try adding something like that next time! 🙂

    • I had made a pretty thick sauce of sorts with goat milk and nutritional yeast (thickened with cornstarch), but I just don’t think I had enough of it. And today it actually tasted a lot better since marrying overnight in the fridge. I’m gonna still experiment a bit for the next one though, for sure. I am trying to stay away from the creamed soup addition because of my cow’s milk sensitivity. 🙂

  4. Hahah, my claim to fame, baller casseroles. Marshall would be proud. Yours actually looks so good! Sorry to hear it was lacking.

  5. Pingback: Worth It | Purple Bird Blog

  6. Pingback: ThankFULL | Purple Bird Blog

  7. Pingback: Christmas Dinner Recap | Purple Bird Blog

  8. Haha – oh, that pie. I know that one, and yes, I need to make it now! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Recipes x4 | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

