Pear, Pumpkin, and Pho… Oh My!

But not all three at the same time!

Yesterday’s eats were a lot of fun.  For dessert after lunch (leftover pasta and asparagus) I portioned up a couple small pieces of cornbread and topped them with some vanilla bean, elderflower, and pear confit purchased through my CSA a couple weeks ago.  For my Austin readers, check out Confituras, a local specialty preserves maker.  Her stuff is AMAZING and can be found at a few shops around town and a couple of the farmer’s markets.  Creatively complimentary flavor combinations!

For a late afternoon snack since I knew it would be a while before dinner, I whipped up a pumpkin smoothie.

  • frozen banana pieces (hence why they are just hovering in that tupperware, they’re stuck there)
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
  • cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla

Thrown in the blender and served in my signature cup.  🙂


This was perfectly filling and held me over for hours.

Alex, Crystalyn (the bestie/roomie), and I went to dinner at Pho Saigon, where I had the best bowl of seafood pho.

My first time trying fish balls, and they were FREAKIN’ FANTASTIC! There’s something about hot noodle-y soup that is just perfect on cold nights.  I ate myself silly, and when we got home Alex made our first fire of the season!

So cozy!

I whipped up this morning’s breakfast ahead of time so I can sleep a little later and eat it in the car.  A perfectly portable peanut butter, banana, and pumpkin sandwich!

This will definitely keep me full through my first class until lunchtime!

I also want to congratulate my blogger friend, Heather, on the birth of her first child, a beautiful baby girl!  Congratulations, sweet Heather!!  She is perfect and I know you will be the best mom!

With that I’m off.  I hope everyone has a great Saturday!

-C

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Snack and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pear, Pumpkin, and Pho… Oh My!

  1. Crystalyn says:

    I’m famous! 🙂

    The fire smelled fantastic last night, as does your cornbread in the kitchen. And that pumpkin sandwich looks really good.
    And the fish balls were REALLY yummy.

  2. Pingback: On Repeat | Purple Bird Blog

  3. janetha says:

    Oh dang, not a recipe. Ah well, I will check her website!

Leave a Reply

