Easy Peasy Dinner

Happy Friday, everyone!

Last night I whipped up one of my favorite go-to easy dinners – pasta, frozen veggies, and some kind of sauce.

I like to use more than one pasta if I have it on hand, and last night I used some 365 Brand whole wheat linguine and spinach spaghetti.

Once the noodles were boiling I added about 1/3 cup of frozen peas and 2/3 cup of frozen broccoli.  I love keeping frozen veggies on hand to toss into quick meals for nutritional value and bulk-up factor.

Once the noodles and veggies were done and draining in the colander, I prepared a quick sauce in the same pot I had used for the boiling.  I neglected to photograph the sauce, but I used some unsweetened Almond Breeze, tomato paste, goat cheese, and powdered goat milk whisked together on low heat until combined.

I used both goat cheese crumbles and some garlic and herb goat cheese log.  Once it was all warmed though, I added the pasta and the veggies back into the pot and stirred it all together with the sauce.

In the meantime I was roasting some asparagus (and baking some sweet potatoes for the next few days) lightly drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper at 400° for 30 minutes.  The tips got all crispy and crunchy, just the way I like it!

Not the most aesthetically pleasing dinner, but extremely satisfying and quick to put together!

While I had the oven already going, I whipped up a batch of Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free cornbread.

I use the gluten-free mix because it is also dairy-free.  I mixed it per the package directions, but I used 1/3 cup coconut oil rather than canola or melted butter, 1 1/2 cups unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, and 2 flax “eggs” since I didn’t have any eggs on hand.  A flax egg is made by combining 1 tbsp ground flax with 3 tbsp water.  In a few minutes the mixture thickens up to the consistency of an egg!

Alex told me to draw a happy face in the cornbread, which it kind of retained during baking.

I think it kind of looks like a monkey in that dish.  Teehee!  🙂

Do you have fun plans for the weekend?  I have a weekend full of class and homework.  I really love massage therapy school though, so all this hard work is totally exciting and worth it.  Are any of you in school right now?  What are you studying?

Have a great Friday!

-C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Peasy Dinner

  1. innerobsidian says:

    i really want to make me some cornbread with coconut oil and almond milk now.

    annnd..i’m not in school, but i am studying some science-y type stuff for a flash fiction story i am writing for a contest ^▽^

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Oat Bran and a Doggie Introduction | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

