Pizzafied Kale Chips

Hey readers!  Hope you’re having a pleasant Thursday so far.  I am personally battling some hardcore cedar allergies and feel like I got hit by a bus.  And the fun part is that these allergies last till February or March.

Enough whining though.  I had a wonderful lunch yesterday.

Finally finished up the rice cooker curry, a pile of shredded chicken topped with avocado, and a diced up persimmon on the side.  The simplicity of chicken and avocado is one of my favorite flavor combinations. And persimmons are such a fun, tasty fall fruit!

Last night I went to yoga, and I am really feeling it (in a good way!) today.  I love my yoga instructor, Zelinda.  I started with her 4 week beginner’s series in August, and I have made big strides in my practice weekly since seeing her.  I love how I feel after every class!  I highly recommend anyone in the North Austin/Pflugerville/Round Rock area who is interested in yoga to check her out.  There is a grand opening for her new studio coming soon, and I’ll keep you all posted.

(For what it’s worth, I am not being compensated for writing this.  I just love her and hope to share the love!)

Last night I had a pretty intense craving for kale chips.  I love kale!  Such a fun, intense leafy green!

I usually make kale chips by soaking cashews and then throwing the cashews into a food processor with lemon juice, salt, red bell pepper, and nutritional yeast, then coating the kale chips with said mixture and dehydrating them overnight.  But I didn’t have any cashews, so in a brief moment of brain storm I thought plain hummus just might work.  My brain storm continued as I remembered an easy pasta sauce I made the other night with hummus and tomato paste, so I made a sauce for the kale with the following.

  • a couple heaping spoonfuls of plain hummus (I had Pita Pal on hand)
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 oz tomato paste
  • 2 dried basil leaves, crushed
  • warm water to thin

I whisked all of that together and poured it over my washed and torn up kale (an entire bunch of kale, with each leaf torn off the large middle stem into chip size pieces), worked it all around with my hands (the best mixing tools!) to ensure each piece of kale was coated, and then put them all in the dehydrator.

I set this all up before I got ready for bed and let the dehydrator run overnight for about 10 hours at 120°.

My dehydrator is an old Ronco dehydrator that I got off Craigslist for cheap.  Some day I’ll have this bad boy.

(source)

The Excalibur Deluxe 9 tray.  So lovely.  But in the meantime, my little Ronco makes kale chips like nobodies business.

This morning I came down to kale chip perfection.

There were a few that were really covered, and I thought this one looked like a fall leaf!

The hummus worked great.  These are SO good.  I highly recommend making them! Apparently if you don’t have a dehydrator you can make them with your oven on low heat for a couple hours, but I’ve never tried it that way.

I hope everyone has a great day.  Hang in there, my fellow allergy sufferers!   And to everyone at Foodbuzz in San Francisco, can’t wait to see all your pictures and read about the fun!

-C

This entry was posted in Snack and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pizzafied Kale Chips

  1. innerobsidian says:

    i bet those are so neat to eat texture wise ..kale is already such an interesting texture..ooh..i can only imagine the crunchiness

  2. Yum!! Kale chips are my fave, but I don’t have a dehydrator yet, so I use the oven at the lowest setting and keep the door open a smidgen. Works like a charm!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

