November = PB Love

Hello readers!  Did you know that November is National Peanut Butter Lovers Month?

(source)

I eat peanut butter every day in some form or fashion, whether it be melting over some oatmeal or toast, in a PB&J (or honey or banana), or by the spoonful.  It’s always exciting to find a new, fun, easy recipe to help me incorporate my favorite daily dose of healthy fat.  When I read about these Smooshies over at Polly’s blog, I knew I had to make them.

The ingredients couldn’t get more simple.  Just the peanut butter, the milk powder (goat for me, due to my intolerance of cow’s milk dairy), and the honey (see Polly’s post for measurements) mixed together in a bowl.

I used raw honey, hence the little bits seen in the picture.  Raw honey is typically unfiltered and contains bits of beeswax, honeycomb, and propolis, the material used by bees to seal off the cracks in the hive.

I used a fork to combine those three ingredients together, and then rolled the “dough” into balls.  I then rolled each ball in a mixture of cinnamon and ground flax.

I was able to get about 7 big balls (*gigglesnort*) out of it, with my boyfriend and I each having an additional small ball to taste test. These are seriously delicious!

I put them in the fridge last night and enjoyed one with breakfast the morning.  Heavenly bites of peanut butter goodness.

I would like to give props to Whole Foods 365 brand organic peanut butters.  Not only are they delicious and pretty reasonably priced for organics, but they really fill each jar to the brim.

Nice.

What is your favorite way to eat peanut butter?  Do you have a favorite brand?

With that, I’m outta here.  I hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday!

-C

This entry was posted in Snack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to November = PB Love

  1. janetha says:

    I did! I knew that! 😉

    Those treats look good. I am not picky about how I eat my PB, but my favorite one is Mighty Maple.

    xo

  2. ive heard that the 365 nut butters are great….i buy whatever is on sale that week 🙂

    if you like maple, flax, honey, those flavors check out these
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/02/grocery-finds-no-bake-vegan-flaxseed.html

    sorry to link drop! but they are sooo easy! and you can top them with nut butter not syrup. and tip, TJ’s roasted flax seeds TASTE like nut butter when you grind them.

  3. I’ll swap you some dog barf balls for one of your Smooshies. 🙂 Look delicious, but again, you can never go wrong with a Polly recipe! Have been wanting to try the powdered goat milk in homemade yogurt, but now I really just want to use it to make a smooshie. 🙂

    How did I not know about Peanut Butter Lover’s Month?!? My favorite is Trader Joe’s unsalted CRUNCHY. Red label, less than $2, and they put crack in it. Somedays I just want to drink it.

    • I have never had the Trader Joe’s peanut butter, just the almond butter, and only my sister sends it to me from Washington! No Trader Joe’s ’round these here parts, unfortunately! I’ll have to put in a request to her for the peanut butter!

      And seriously… MAKE THE SMOOSHIES. Man. So good.

  4. Pingback: Hello, Gorgeous | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

