Rice Cooker Hot Curry Mess

Happy Halloween, everyone!  Does everyone have fun plans for the day?  I am going to a friend’s house this afternoon to practice the Swedish massage routine after she so selflessly volunteered.  😉  After that, I’m really not sure.  I have a long day of work and class tomorrow, so I definitely won’t be staying out late.  I actually haven’t dressed up in a while, but my favorite costume was definitely the girl scout from 6 years ago.

A friend’s girlfriend made me the skirt out of green fabric I’d picked up very last minute, and it totally didn’t fit right so I duct taped it to my body.  Stayed on all night!  🙂

So onto the other night’s easy dinner.  I LOVE my rice cooker.  Such a brilliant little machine.

I threw all of the following ingredients in together.

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice
  • one can (13.5 oz) light coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3 oz tomato paste
  • 1 cup garbanzos
  • 1/2 cup frozen green peas
  • one chicken bullion cube
  • several hefty shakes of curry powder
  • smaller sprinkle of garlic powder (aren’t you loving these measurements?)

Put them all together, set rice cooker to “cook,” and wait for the glorious magic to happen. About 30-40 minutes later I was able to plate up this deliciousness.

Topped with a little crumbled goat cheese, because why not?

Alright everyone, I’m off to enjoy my Halloween Sunday.  I wish you all a fun and safe day/night!

-C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rice Cooker Hot Curry Mess

  1. Amy says:

    Girl, I will keep my eyes out for a real rice cooker for ya!

  2. Katherine says:

    I have always looked at rice cookers and thought they were so pointless. I’m not a huge rice eater and I thought I could just make it on the stove. But that looks delicious! And I love the idea of throwing everything in and leaving it to cook. I may have to take a second look at rice cookers.

  3. janetha says:

    Everything is better with goat cheese, for sure. You made a cute girl scout! I love those damn cookies.. mmm.. cookies..

  4. yum!!!!

    glad you like your R.C. model, good to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

