OOIAJ

Hello friends!

Anyone who reads food blogs isn’t a stranger to the concept of overnight oats, oats in a jar, or the combination of the two, overnight oats in a jar (OOIAJ)!

Never has there been a reason to be so excited to get to the end of the peanut butter jar. It’s been said that I have a bit of a peanut butter problem…

Um... yeah.

These were my contenders for my overnight oats.

That jar of White Chocolate Wonderful had the equivalent of maybe a tablespoon and a half of peanut butter left on the bottom and the sides. Β Into the jar went the following –

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • generous shake of cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • banana, thin slices
  • 1/2 cup Almond Breeze
  • 1/2 cup So Delicious coconut milk kefir

My dogs are FIENDS for bananas and wait patiently for their treat.

Once all the ingredients are in the jar, I put the lid back on and give a good shake to disperse everything evenly.

All shook up!

Then into the fridge it goes overnight, where all the flavors have time to marry and the chia seeds have the opportunity to gel-up and thicken everything nicely.

In the morning, all you have to do is grab a spoon and dig in!

Creamy goodness.

Enjoyed alongside some coffee in a purple bird cup, perfect for a purple bird blog!

And I’ll leave you with a couple gratuitous puppy love shots, because who can’t get enough of those?! Β (Janetha and Allison, I’m looking at you!)

Have a great day, everyone!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Oats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to OOIAJ

  1. You know I love those doggie shots! Keep ’em coming. You know, I never did like OIAJ. I think because they were too hot. OOIAJ may be a different story.. but I will never find out because now it is COLD and I want warm breakfasts πŸ™‚ Happy national oatmeal day! XOXO

  2. I just saw your blog through the Peanut Butter & Co. tweet! Haha I LOVE getting to eat things out of peanut butter jars (and don’t worry, I’ve got a huge stash of nut butters too!) I think PB&Co’s is some of my fav. I love the dark chocolate dreams!

    Enjoy those oats, they look awesome!

    • Hey, Liz! Thanks for stopping by!

      This week has been a super score for me… I came up on the bottom of THREE different peanut butter jars… OOIAJ in Mighty Maple, White Chocolate Dreams, and Whole Foods organic crunchy?! I should play the lottery with luck like that! πŸ™‚

  3. Francine says:

    I’ve never seen so many peanut butter jars in one person’s kitchen! That’s wild!!!!
    I am definitely going to try this OOIAJ recipe. I am cuckoo for So Delicious Coconut Milk Kefir and their coconut milk beverages, too (which I’ll use in place of the almond milk.) And my dog is also nuts for bananas! It was so sweet to see your two little cuties waiting patiently for their bits of banana.

  4. I love this blog. I’m so excited that I found it. I was commenting on Blue Diamond Almond Breeze and visited their facebook page and found you.

    I can’t wait to read more and to try OOIAJ myself.

    Thanks so much,

    Laurie

  5. stephanie watson says:

    :O ..never thought to do THAT before..sounds delicious, going to have to try ! ..i do like using kefir……soon my things-christin-makes-that-i-must-make-too list will be soo long..for real <3you

  6. Allik says:

    OMLG! OOIAJ–it’s brilliant and my life will never be the same again. I mixed it up last night. Into the jar went almond butter, oats, milk, a teeny tiny bit of flaxmeal, almond extract, a banana, and cinnamon. I added some blueberries this morning. Thanks for changing my life!

    Also, I am a new purple bird blog reader. Thanks for doing this. I really love your posts and your story speaks to me!

    Allison in CO

  7. look at all those nut/seed butters!!!!!!!
    i think i love you.
    so.awesome.
    i think the wackiest one i’ve ever tried is cranberry vanilla peanut butter. sooopah sweet, so i used it as a pumpkin cookie frosting πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Frozen Pizza Bliss | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a Reply

