Recipes x4

For everyone who has asked about the turducken… it was delicious. It was cajun spiced and super moist.  Even the duck wasn’t too greasy (which is my usual complaint with duck) and super flavorful. I really enjoyed partaking in my first turducken experience and would definitely do it again.

I’m finally here to tell you about the four super simple and super delicious recipes I made for Christmas Day.  First up on the menu, HEAB’s massaged spinach salad.  A wonderful opportunity to pamper your spinach by slathering it in a nourishing blend of lemon, avocado, and miso, followed by a thorough and tender massage… and then to eat the crap out of it.  I will definitely be making this again and again.

Next up, coconut oil sauteed brussels sprouts.

I started with 2 pounds of brussels and cut them all in half.

I then placed them cut side down into a pan of hot coconut oil until the oil was absorbed and the brussels were nice and brown and caramelized.  Then I added a couple glugs of olive oil, stirred everything around, and added enough water to cover the bottom of the pan and about half a crumbled up veggie bullion cube.  I let the steam take effect and once they the brussels were a brilliant green and slightly soft I removed them from the pan and transferred them to a serving dish.

My orange maple sweet potatoes were next up on the menu.

I started by baking a crap ton of sweet potatoes.  I wanted to really preserve that sap flavor that only baking can bring out.

Once they were done, I removed them all from their skin. 

I reserved one skin to add to the dish, and I may or may not have eaten most of the rest of these.  Okay, so yeah I totally did. Helllooooooooo fiber.

I then put the sweet potatoes in a bowl and began blending them with a hand mixer. I then added 2 tbsp maple syrup and 2 tbsp mango orange juice (thank you, C!)

I tore up that reserved skin into small pieces, added it to the mix, whipped everything a bit longer, and transferred to a serving dish.

That orange flavor really made the dish, and the slight mapleyness was an excellent complimentary flavor.

And finally I made dessert.  The pumpkin cake bar recipe that I have made into a pie before, once again subbing peanut butter for the almond butter and pumpkin pie spice for all the other spices.

This one seriously wows the company.  I call it peanut butter crustless pie because that sounds super fancy, and it has been hit among everyone I know who has tried it.  I neglected to get a picture of my slice on Christmas (alongside a sliver of a cheesecake made with a Honey Bunches of Oats crust, OMG), so here is a picture of a piece I enjoyed yesterday.

And that, my friends, was my contribution to Christmas dinner!  I actually made the pie and the sweet potatoes the night before to make it easier on myself, and the potatoes reheated wonderfully.

I went to Costco and two other grocery stores yesterday stocking up on veggies, fruit, fish, falafel balls, and other deliciously light and healthy items to help me get back on track this week.  Holiday eating has been a blast, but my body is screaming for normalcy again! What is on your menu this week?

<3 C

This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Dinner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Recipes x4

  1. This all sounds so wonderful! I have to admit the Brussel Sprouts and Sweet potatoes are the ones I cannot wait to try the most!! I am glad you had a wonderful Christmas! :)

  2. inmytummy says:

    Those brussels sprouts look so good. I think that sauteing them is the best way to cook them. Yum.

  3. The mango orange juice looks delicious! I’ve never thought to bake with flavored OJ like that! Yum!

  4. Dude, the first thing I thought when I was that plateful of sweet potato skins was, “Omg! Naked taters!” Lol, but seriously, that dish looks delish and I already told you I HAVE to make that pie!

    I myself am trying to get back to a normal eating schedule. Not so easy when there are still sweets lingering at home and haunting me at work. It’s so crazy though…I rarely ever crave dessert…until the holidays!

  5. Everything looks delicious! I love brussels sprouts in coconut oil! YUM! I am a huge fan of crustless pumpkin pie. I did not have one this year…maybe New Years would be a good day for that one!

  6. Jenn says:

    OMG! you’ve been busy in the kitchen! now i’m gonna go “eat the crap” out of some spinach b/c I cant fight the craving any longer. haha

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  7. Jen says:

    This all sounds soooo good!! But I have to say, the coconut oil sauteed brussels sprouts sound the best!

    Happy Monday Darling! xo

  8. Meri says:

    Hahaha- I must confess, as I helped prepare our sweet potato dish I ate at least half of the skins. They are delicious! Plus, they hold a lot of nutrients I think.

    Great spread!

  9. Everything looks so good! I would have devoured those skins, too… it’s the best part!

  10. Brandy says:

    Um….when are you making all that again? I’ll be right down. :)

    I want those sweet taters! I usually don’t fuss with sweet potatoes because I love them so much just as they are, but that sounds to die for.

    Still haven’t bought any coconut oil because I’m a cheap a$$. I guess I really need to jump on that band wagon.

  11. Peggy says:

    Sounds like you had some lucky eaters on Christmas day! Definitely would want a piece of that pumpkin cake right about now!

  12. mangocheeks says:

    Happy holidays to you.

    I am always looking for ways to eat sprouts and this is totally new to me.

  13. Natalie O says:

    Delicious!!! I am a new found lover of brussel sprouts. I had amazing ones yesterday that had crushed pistachios and shallots. Now I gotta try yours :)

  14. Lori says:

    I wish I were tasting your feast items! Damn! They look so good! I want that almond butter cake… want. And those brussel sprouts, and sweet potato goodness, and the turducken- my boyfriend always talks about wanting a turducken.

  15. allieksmith says:

    Make me massaged spinach please?!?! Mmmm everything looks soo good! My menu this week = RATATIOULLE :)

Leave a Reply

