A Stark Contrast

There is a stark contrast between my dinner from last night and my dinner from tonight. Observe.

Last night’s dinner, made with love by the man.

Steak cooked nice and rare with our favorite canned peas (I don’t know why I love the Le Sueur peas with pearl onions and mushrooms so much, but I do), and while he had some cheesy rice out of a 90 second microwave bag, I threw some quinoa in the rice cooker with some nutritional yeast and coconut creamer, served on spinach for extra veggie oomph.

And tonight’s post-yoga dinner, a dinner-size bowl of cereal.

If I’m eating cereal for dinner, I don’t mess around.  I got out a giant bowl, spooned in my usual spoonful of peanut butter, and loaded these three guys into the bowl.

I also threw some of my homemade peanut butter granola in for good measure.

Hit the damn SPOT.  I have been craving cereal like a crazyperson despite the cold weather.

Have a sleepy doggy photo. You love them.

You wanna know 5 random facts about me?  Here you go.

1.  I love the way my little Rambo-dog smells.  His natural dog smell is awesome.  I huff him regularly.

2.  I HATE my toes and my toenails.  I struggle with ingrowns and I am always stubbing my toes, and I wish I could have them all removed.

3.  I got an acorn stuck in my nose when I was 3.  Waaaay up there.  My dad had to take me to the ER where they didn’t sedate me one bit… just strapped me to a table and sucked the thing out of my nose with some suction device.  It is a frighteningly vivid memory.

4.  I have an obsession with matryoshka (Russian nesting dolls) but have never owned any.  I would like to though.  A collection would be awesome.

5.  I cannot eat cottage cheese.  It feels like trying to chew up bits of barf.  *shudder*

Tell me something random about yourself!

❤ C

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Stark Contrast

  1. 1. I cant eat cottage cheese
    2. I habitually stuck beads so far up my nose so often that I had to go to the doc
    3. mmmmm cereal ❤

    xoXOxo

  2. Meri says:

    I recently bought some “nesting” snack/ bento lunch containers from Borders. There are four of them and they fit inside each other in the drawer. They have cartoons of fruit, veggies, croissants, and eggs on the lids. I adore them. You should check em out!

  3. omg, homemade peanut butter granola sounds to die for! And YES! Love the sleepy dog photo!!!!
    Random about me:
    1. I have a weird semi-phobia about mayonnaise and/or mical whip. Can’t stand the stuff – don’t want to touch it, look at it, cook with it, GOD FORBID taste it, etc. Sick.
    2. I have 2 tattoos, though no one can see them (I’d like more) & I’ve had more than 7 piercings in my life – but most of the holes have since closed & now I just have my ears.

  4. Jess says:

    You got me craving cereal!

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    Why do you have those kinds of cereals, the ones sold here in New Zealand are usually the boring and common ones.

  6. Cynthia K. says:

    Weirdest Christmas present ever: one year my mom and I were shopping at an antique market and found SOVIET DICTATOR NESTING DOLLS. For real. They went to my sister who proudly displays them still (12yrs or so later.)

  7. lindsay says:

    haha, I love cottage cheese but I am weird. I don’t have any problem with texture. Slimy, sticky, you name it!
    Cereal for dinner is a must sometimes. I like a nice bowl of hot oats as well. 🙂

  8. nesting dolls…skylar has some. we both love them!

    feet. i am having the worst case of blisters here in the heat. I will go for months with none and right now i have about 4! that’s my fact 🙂

  9. I never though about it before now, but that cottage cheese visual is totally sticking with me! Honestly that’s the exact reason I have never liked beer. It tastes like stomach acid to me.

  10. Peggy says:

    I too have a cottage cheese aversion! I just can’t get over the texture!

  11. Pingback: Tempting Tempeh | Purple Bird Blog

Leave a comment