A Cheesy Hug

Hello, readers!  This Tuesday is seriously just blowing right on by me!

In honor of Chocolate Covered Katie‘s hug something vegan idea, I shared a special moment with a vegan favorite ingredient of mine, nutritional yeast.

According to Wikipedia, nutritional yeast is a deactivated yeast that is an excellent source of protein and vitamins, especially the B-complex vitamins.  It is also a complete protein. As appealing as those stats are, I am partial to it because of it’s interestingly cheesy flavor. I am not vegan, but I am sensitive to cow’s milk dairy, so I love using it to impart cheesiness into many recipes including many of the sauces I make. I also enjoy it sprinkled on vegetables, spaghetti, popcorn… all kinds of stuff. As strange as it sounds, a favorite snack of mine is a sweet potato with a heaping spoonful of peanut butter and a generous sprinkling of nutritional yeast. I can’t put into words how awesome those flavors combine with one another.

I’ll be using some nutritional yeast in a sauce recipe tonight, but you’ll have to check back tomorrow for that!  What vegan item would you like to hug?

-C

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Snack and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Cheesy Hug

  1. Awwww you are so incredibly adorable!!
    And a few more !!!!s :).

  2. Rachel says:

    I <3 nutritional yeast too! It's a great way to squeeze some extra vitamin B's into my food.

  3. Pingback: Hug a Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

